We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Portland Activity”

Portland Spirit River Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Small-Group Portland City Driving Tour and Willamette River Lunch Cruise
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Columbia River Gorge Tour and Portland Spirit Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sunday brunch cruise is a wonderful activity the food is great the service is excellent the entertainment lovely. We really enjoyed the experience. Special thanks to our waiter Chris!

Thank evesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. So glad to hear you had a great time and we hope to have you on board again in the future.

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Booked the dinner cruise on the Internet. Two couples from the UK. Staff were friendly and attentive. The cruise along the river was fine. I had a steak that was perfectly cooked and delicious. Drinks were reasonably priced. The entertainment was a pianist and occasional songs about the trip from waiting staff. Very nice but felt it could do with a bit of livening up. The atmosphere was sedate and it could have been a little more, well, exciting. Got the impression that nothing had changed since the cruises had started. Enjoyed it but...

To a Brit the tipping policy was weird and outrageous 15% of the whole cost, even though booked tickets ourselves. Perhaps it is us?

1  Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your dinner cruise with us on board. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the cruise and your food! We always like to hear that. And that is a great comment about the atmosphere on board, I will definitely pass this along to our Service Director for her review. Hopefully we can get you guys on board again the next time you are in the Portland area!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Yesterday my sister and friend took the Spirit luncheon cruise. The day was perfect-sunny, warm, smooth waters. The food on the other hand was very disappointing.The Seafood Cioppino was basically spahgetti. You coulldnt even see the shrimp-if there were any, 2-3 tiny tiny scallops and 1 clam! The salads and dessert were extra! Next time we will just take the cruise and enjoy the scenery!

1  Thank veteran_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your cruise on board the Portland Spirit. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the cruise, and am sorry to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. We always like to learn a bit more about where we missed the mark, if you would not mind sending me a quick email with the date you cruised with us so that I may look into it further. Again thank you for reviewing your experience and hopefully we are able to have you on board again some time with better results.

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
kbaxter@portlandspirit.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Took a two hour brunch cruise on a sternwheeler from the Cascade Locks just above Bonneville Dam and enjoyed the sights and history of the Columbia Gorge from the river while enjoying a weekend brunch. The cruise was just long enough to keep it interesting and the food was a good standard brunch. Would recommend it to both tourists and locals. Cost for seniors was $39 including brunch, not including tip.

1  Thank griz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your brunch cruise aboard our Columbia Gorge Sternwheeler. I am so glad that you had a good time on board. Hope to have you all on board again!

Sincerely,

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Joining two other couples during our recent trip to Portland, we decided on a cruise along the river for our reunion dinner. It turned out to be delightful. We were fortunate in having a Perfect Evening for the cruise. Passing under the bridges while still daylight and returning in the dark amid the city lights was lovely. The sites along the river, the lovely homes, the marinas, all set amid the signature Oregon Tall Trees, made a wonderful backdrop.

The dinner itself was very nice. It was a sit down meal with somewhat limited selections. But everything was prepared very nicely. The service was prompt and helpful. Live dinner music was pleasant without being obtrusive. We never felt rushed.

Identifying the correct dock where a particular cruise departs was a little challenging. But the website was pretty clear and once we got into the right area, there was no question where to go and where to board.

The dinner cruise lasted about two and a half hours. Overall, a definite 'DO' to anyone visiting Portland!

1  Thank Diplokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your dinner cruise with us. Always so nice to hear when someone has a wonderful time and enjoyed themselves. And, good to hear that our website helped get you to the correct docking location. Look forward to having you on board again!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Spirit River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Portland Spirit River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing