We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and accommodations”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great value and accommodations”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I chose Portland as our 15 th annual girls trip this year and stayed at the Paramount.
Great value, very clean. The restaurant
was under construction but
there was so much else to do on Portland that it didn't matter. The concierge service would be the only thing with which I had an issue, with the exception of Ed, whom everyone rates well here and deservedly so. Another concierge actually told us to wait a minute when we approached with a question- while he was outside talking with the doorman. Not acceptable. Other than that, it was a very good place to stay and
would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdg418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
15th annual trip, wow that’s a great tradition, Bdg418! We would love to have you back for the 16th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    380
    70
    33
    11
See reviews for
205
489
66
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
americus georgia usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Instead of reaching out for one of the usual chain hotels, we took a chance this trip and booked our 4-night stay in Portland at the Paramount Hotel. We couldn't have been happier with the location, the comfort, and the value. The best way to get around Portland is via the awesome public transportation (light rail, bus, trolley), and the station is one block away from the hotel, which is perfectly situated near Pioneer Square and all the other action. The rooms are comfortable, super clean, and quiet. Rooms include wifi and a fridge, so walk a few blocks to Safeway and stock on up snacks and beverages. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable; ask them anything and you'll have a good answer as to where to eat, where to shop, and how to get there.

Room Tip: We were on the top (15th) floor, so no doubt this contributed to the peace and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is Portland; they do all they can to save our planet and we're happy to participate in the sensible practices at this hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ksassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for the review Ksassi and taking a chance with us!

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I've stayed at Paramount four times now over the past eight months. It's becoming a bit of a habit.

The rooms have all been large enough and quite comfortable. Some of the lower rooms don't have much of a view, but once you get above floors 6 or 7 you should be in good shape. Plenty of space, nice bathroom setups, and I've always slept well (except the one morning when construction crews started work at 7am...on a Saturday...oof). The WiFi is free and reliable as well, which never hurts.

The staff has always been friendly, and the location is great - easy access by car and quite a bit nearby / within walking distance.

A few quirks to note: The bar and restaurant is closed right now. A new one is supposed to be open for business in June.

Parking is $31/night and the valets always hustle, but sometimes it can take a little while for your car to arrive. Haven't had an issue when calling 15 minutes advance. Less than that, and you might have a wait if it's a peak arrival/departure time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idonotlikeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Loved this hotel! It was a little more than I was looking to pay but was better value than many others in the same category in downtown Portland. Reception and front door staff were unfailingly courteous and friendly, rooms were large and spotless, location was perfect and the wifi worked like a charm. I was on the 9th floor and there was a bit of street noise but nothing that disturbed my sleep - even from the construction site across the park. I also liked the fact that the windows opened a little and there was blackout curtains so the room was really dark at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you Claire B!!! We did recently do a complete upgrade to our wifi so it’s always great to hear it’s working very well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Paramount wound up our choice for a quick weekend in and about Portland (since the Sentinel was unavailable). We wanted something downtown and the reviews were good enough for the Paramount. Good would be a stretch for our experience this last weekend.

I guess the bar was set for our visit when we pulled up to valet park ($31 – yikes!) and the attendant stood idle as I had to unload our bags and bring them curbside – really?! Reception was efficient enough and we were off to our 12th floor room promptly. We booked a “King Deluxe” (per other reviews) but were disappointed that our “view room” included a peek at the rooftop parking garage next door and a construction site across Director Park. We would have usually headed back to reception and asked for an alternate room but were too tired to bother.

The room was ok – quite large really – but nothing special and a little tired. The bath was large and had a shower and Jacuzzi tub. The soak was eagerly anticipated but seems the jets had lost their gusto? I had noticed a comment about the “Lemon Pledge” bath/shower gels and shampoo so, it was a bit comical to lather up smelling like a freshly polished dining table. Management might want to re-think that one.

Our stay was wrapped up by being jarred from our sleep at 6:00am (on a Sunday!) by an over zealous power washer down on the street. While the hotel had little control over a nit-wit city employee – double-paned windows would have minimized the ridiculous noise. The front desk staff offered little condolence when we questioned the incident at checkout. Oh well.

I suspect that we’ll look for another option next time we’re in Portland. Meh.

Room Tip: Definitely take a peek at your room before settling in. If you pay for a corner "view room"...
See more room tips
Green Features: We liked the use of wall mounted shower products to minimize packaging but the "lemony" scent was less than desirable.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alameda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am in Portland about 6-10 times a year on business and I have stayed at all of the better downtown boutique Hotels except the large national chains - which I avoid everywhere I go.

My favorite has always been The Hotel deLuxe! But, I recently discovered The Paramount Hotel Portland and while it's not "quite" as cool as the deLuxe it is a significant value and it is better located. Service is excellent, especially the doorman Ed who recommended the South Park restaurant - I'll review that in a minute! They also have an attractive and attentive young lady door person/valet...something much needed in this lively and liberal town. I actually, suggested it to the Hotel Monaco management a year ago...they've not acted on my idea.

So, I don't think you can go wrong with any of my favoites, the Nines to the the Vintage - but, you'll love the price point and location of the Paramount. Try it!

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms facing south the rooms facing north offer entertaining viewing of the Park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuretyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you Rich C! True, we aren’t the coolest hotel around, but we got over that years ago. We prefer to be known for value and location, so you nailed it. Hope to welcome you back again for one of your future trips.

Safe travels -
Norm Hwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The staff was really incredible. Every time we had a question or request they went above and beyond to try to accommodate us, instead of just trying to pass us off or take the easy way out. This was the case from the time we checked in trough to after we checked out, including a personal email from the manager to follow up on a specific request we had. Very impressed and we will definitely stay here again.

Green Features: We were visiting from Florida and it was just refreshing to see the environmental awareness the Paramount practices. I think this is pretty wide-spread in Portland, but good to see first hand and good to see the Paramount is front and center with it.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPAtoPDX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
TPAtoPDX2014, thank you for your review and recognizing our incredible staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing