We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Experience”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Oaklyn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Positive Experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at the Paramount for business. The room was a good size, clean, and it had a refrigerator, which was a plus. The employees were nice and helpful. It's also at a good location. It's only a block from a Metro stop, so getting around was easy. I took the Metro to and from the airport. I also took it to Washington Park. I was able to walk to the waterfront, and there are many stores and restaurants within walking distance. I was so glad that there was a Starbucks next door. l really enjoy a good cup of coffee, not the weak hotel kind. If I were to travel to Portland again, I would definite stay at the Paramount.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you Janette P, hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    381
    70
    33
    11
See reviews for
206
491
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our second visit to the Paramount. We had a corner room overlooking the park. It was fun to watch the people playing chess with the large pieces.
Hotel staff superb. Very friendly and very fast check in. Room large and very clean. Great bed. The bathroom is gigantic.
The hotel is downtown. Easy walk to many attractions: theatres, art museum, restaurants. Valet parking fast and average price for the service to other Portland hotels. Self park nearby if you want to do that.
Good Wi-Fi connections.
A very good location and price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrstixSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for another great review. We appreciate your business and loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A friend and I spent five lovely days in Portland, at the Paramount because it had good reviews and was central. This was a good decision. We did not have a car and were able to walk almost everywhere we needed to go. Hotel is very close to transit, has Starbucks next door and Safeway three blocks away. We loved the fridge, the fact that windows opened a bit for fresh air, and comfy beds, plus the good- sized bathroom with enough counter space, and the full length mirror on closet door. We booked through hotel after checking their website, but original reservation did not reflect lowest price and if I had not checked, we would have paid $100.00 more. I called hotel back and spoke to different staff member who said I already had the lowest rate but did change it when I persisted. Overall good experience, just pay attention to details when booking.

Room Tip: Loved being on top floor, facing quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall it was a great experience. The coffee with room service was not hot and the food was barely warm. The valet parking over night is expensive. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a north view and you may see more than we did on west side.
See more room tips
Green Features: The have trash and recycling options in the room with minimal green options in lobby.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are in town for leisure or business and want a downtown location, the location of the Portland Paramount just can't be beat. Close to everything...shopping, entertainment, food, local color... The hotel is also just steps from the light rail the is inexpensive and can talk you all over Portand. The smaller size of the hotel makes it a more intimate and friendly experience. Staff is warm, welcoming, and helpful. If you go, be sure to stop in at Tasting East, the restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you Paula G, we agree that our location can’t be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent three nights here while touring northern Oregon. Staff was great, especially the guys in front at the doors. Super quiet room, upper floor with views of downtown and the blast of colors of the trees. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the coffee and fridge were nice to have. Easy walking to all the different areas of downtown Portland and easy access to all transportation options. Would definitely recommend this for running around downtown Portland. Next to museums and culture, theatres, restaurants, bars and shops of all kinds.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livasida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in downtown Portland along with a very lively bar. Unfortunately when we checked in, the woman at the front desk copped an attitude with us which colored the rest of the visit. The building itself is kind of old feeling and the room was on the small side and nothing special. The valet parking guys were super friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,780 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing