We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend, and had a wonderful experience. All the standard requirements for a nice stay were met - staff was pleasant and efficient, decor appealing, beds comfy, etc. Though there was a minor hiccup with the air conditioning unit, the hotel had many pleasant "extras" that more than made up for it, and warrant an exceptional rating:

1) During our stay, all rooms and room floors were decorated with framed works by a local photographer, depicting the many beloved bridges of Portland. Elevator landings also had tables designed by local design students to compliment the photographs. Such support of the local artists and pride in the city gets two enthusiastic thumbs up from me!
2) Environmentally friendly policies such as providing toiletry dispensers in the showers (instead of those wasteful mini plastic bottles) and only washing towels when left on the floor also gets kudos from me.
3) Chupa Chup lollipops in abundance in the hotel lobby. If you've never tried one, you should. They are really good!

Management and staff have done an excellent job at making the Paramount an exceptional property, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItineraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello ItineraryLady, thank you so much for the nice review! I loved reading that you enjoyed our local art, it’s nice to know that it appreciated by you. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for a few nights-- as others have pointed out, the location is very good. Our room was clean and comfortable-- and the staff were all very friendly. Our room was quiet and the wi-fi worked well.

The in-house restaurant was fantastic-- Portland has so many great dining options that we only got to experience it once! I would gladly return to the Paramount on future trips!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From this location we could walk everywhere. Totally enjoyed the Pearl District and the Saturday/Sunday market which has unique and creative merchandise.
The hotel and rooms are very clean and comfortable, and a good value for the dollar in an expensive hotel district. The front desk was professional and courteous.

The only thing I was not satisfied with was the Concierge. The front desk had to call him in the morning. He seemed distracted and did not respond with any enthusiasm when asking for help. I asked him for "a good place for breakfast " within walking distance. ( We had just arrived and did not know the area.) Well he suggested "Mothers" which was about a 20 minute walk- not too bad distance wise, but when I asked him if some streets were safer/better/busier/prettier to go down then others he said it was all the same. I was in the lobby with 3 young children, so I thought he would" get" what I was asking for. So following his route we had to walk past several blocks with many transients/homeless and by some places advertising things that I did not want my kids to see. After I learned the downtown area I found there were many fantastic places about 5 to 8 minutes away if we went in the direction of the Pearl District or toward Nordstrum that I discovered on my own. Why he did not tell us about this area or direction, beats me. He lead us down a lonely area of the downtown to get to one breakfast house. A suggestion for the manager: Have the concierge "walk the streets" so he can present the best and safest of Portland. If it wasn't for the disturbing experience I would be giving the hotel 4 stars.

Regardless of this one mislead guidence by the Concierge, the rest of the hotel was just fine, and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Turn the air off at night to avoid noise. Nearby 9th and 10th streets are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaturtledove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed two nights. Very clean room. Staff very, very friendly. Centrally located so easy to get to just about anywhere in Portland using the streetcar or light rail. Check in and check out was quick. The farmers market at Pioneer Square and the park directly behind the Paramount had excellent fruits/vegetables and baked goods? Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Paramount Hotel for just two nights (would have been happy to be there longer). The hotel is very well located, next to Director Park and within walking distance to the Saturday Market and Farmer's market, all the major shopping areas, and the museums. The Hotel is elegantly appointed, modern but comfortable. There is free Wifi in the rooms. Bedding was excellent, and the noise level was low. We were on the top floor, and could occasionally hear some street noise but no hallway noise. The room has a mini fridge (empty), coffeepot, and ours had a Jacuzzi tub. There is a small gym, but we did not use it. Valet parking is currently $31/day but there are many lots nearby for about $12-13. If you are not planning on coming and going a lot, I recommend self-parking.

Overall, lovely hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nysatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Nysatx, thank you for the kind words, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here July 20-23. I had asked for a early check in and a high floor since I had read other reviews of street noise. I got both! The only problem was the group of ladies next door the last two nights that did not respect other guests late at night. Very noisy when they came it. We just turned the AC lower to drown the noise! Doorman was very nice as well as front desk. Very knowledgeable of restaurants. TE has a great breakfast - wonderful French Toast!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and hope you don't get noisy neighbors late at night! There was no pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funat50Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travel to Portland several times a year and almost always stay at the Paramount. The central location is very convenient, I've always received excellent service from the staff, and I really enjoy the Te restaurant. I highly recommend the Paramount for stays in central Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you CharlesGrant, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,633 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,170 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $158 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing