We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful affordable room in the heart of big box shopping downtown Portland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, CA
1 review
“Beautiful affordable room in the heart of big box shopping downtown Portland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean room with engaging helpful staff. Safe area near the big stores but within walking distance to all of 'don't miss' attractions of downtown Portland. Easy access to airport trains. Slept like a log on their wonderful pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscottydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Kscottydc, thank you for the wonderful review! Hopefully you were able to take advantage of Portland’s tax-free shopping while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    344
    63
    30
    10
See reviews for
177
413
57
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but were very happy with our room. Staff was great and very helpfull. They were more than willing to assist us in any way. Nice room with a super comfortable bed. Balconey was not what we expected, it was really small and looked into peoples apartments across the street. Other than that it was a nice place and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Tammy V! Look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed two nights in the heart of the city. We loved accesd to downtown and Oearl district. Had one issue with the room which was corrected immediately. Enjoyed the views. Restaraunt menu looked super but did not have a chance to try it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a place close to downtown. This hotel was just the ticket! The staff was friendly and efficient. We had a room on the 12th floor. Giant bathroom with a shower AND a jet tub. Adequate counter space. The room was large and well appointed. Decor is attractive and the art is Portland related. Good wi-fi service. Director's Park is right across the street. It gives you a great area outside if the weather is nice. Valet service was super and very quick.
The hotel is just far enough away from the core of downtown to be quiet. We even had the windows open at night! We had one very minor problem with the bathroom sink, but that was taken care of as well as could be done. It did not detract from our stay, and I highly recommend the Paramount. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrstixSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
MrstixSalem, thank you for the great review! I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love staying at the Paramount when I am in Portland. It is just across from the major downtown stores, such as Nordstrom, close to Starbucks and within walking distance to almost everything downtown! What is further away is easily available on the Max. The Paramount also has beautiful views of the city, and wonderful customer service! Parking is by valet which is a little spendy however the low price of a nice hotel makes it balance out. I love to go shopping and spend the night, being able to rest in a hotel at night that is close by rather than rushing back to Salem when I am tired. Also a perfect place to stay during the Christmas season--close to Pioneer Square, the city Christmas tree, and lights everywhere!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are small but have better views and a small hot tub in the bathroom. I prefer non corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C00kiebreath10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

From the valet service when you arrive to all the exceptionally professional and attentive service throughout the stay, this hotel was terrific. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the decor throughout the hotel is welcoming and unique. We loved the framed photos of Portland area landmarks in the hallways. The location is perfect for shopping and being in the heart of the city.
The reputation of excellence is well deserved. I look forward to coming back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Soonkeum! We also recently updated our artwork in the lobby, something new to look forward to on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Wife and I both agreed we had to write a review for this hotel. We spent a romantic long-weekend in Portland (where it all began for us) and the Paramount made the experience wonderful. Beautiful and modern hotel, comfortable and excellent staff. I think everyone would pretty much agree that Pioneer Square is the hub of downtown Portland and the Paramount is practically across the street from Pioneer Square thus placing the hotel in perfect location. Easy walking to entertainment and restaurants, the Light Rail Trains around the Square, Street Car a few blocks North, and the downtown Bus Loop a few blocks South. There is very little parking in downtown Portland but the Paramount does offer valet parking for a daily fee... trust me, it's worth every penny. We came and went a lot driving to our old hangouts in Hillsdale, Multnomah Village, Orenco, and some new spots in the Killingsworth and Alberta neighborhoods... the valet service was fantastic. We didn't have time to try the restaurant in the hotel but 4 years ago we had dinner there with the kids and it was excellent (Asian food). Great place to stay... we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Obummer thank you, and your wife, for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,228 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing