We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rooms were good sized, clean, and comfortable. They had free WiFi in the room, which is always a plus. Great central location for accessing bars, restaurants, public transportation, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank QuenchMyThirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for Paramount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Paramount Hotel in Portland, Oregon. Just two blocks from the light rail airport run which stops at 10th and Galleria. Staff is friendly. Hotel is very clean. Room was quiet. Bathroom contained a surprise! No more little bottles... YEAH! Shampoo, conditioner and body wash are all in a dispenser on the wall... see photo. I always find little bottles are so hard to use. I love this environmental friendly idea of putting everything in a dispenser. Just make sure you wear your glasses to read the labels before you bathe that way you will be sure to use the right product for the right purpose!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Linda H, thank you for the very nice review! So glad to hear you appreciated our eco-friendly bath products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Paramount is located in downtown Portland just a few minutes' walk from Pioneer Courthouse Square. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are also a good size and very clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. You are steps away from shopping, dining and entertainment, and the Portland Art Museum is only a short stroll away. I very much enjoyed my stay at the Portland and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scs1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Scs1207 thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was in Portland for only 2 nights for a meeting. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff was accommodating. It is conveniently located making it easy to explore this interesting city on meeting breaks; close to excellent restaurants, stores, and the Light Rail. Free wifi in the room. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks for the review NYCT44! We would love to have back to stay with us, hopefully next time it will be all pleasure and no work involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great town and this is the best central place to stay -- close to shopping and cool inner-city park. Travelled with five families from Mercer Island, boy went to the NCAA regionals and girls to the Musical. Walked over the Westin, a little nicer but $100 more per night .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent several days during the Rose Festival in this hotel and were very, very happy with our choice. Our room was cozy, almost to the point of tight, but so well appointed that we didn't mind. The bed was comfortable. A great workspace with plenty of wifi and plugs. A big chair for relaxing. A nice view of the city out the window. Right across the street from Director's Park. Every member of the staff I talked to was polite and eager to please. Nice workout room. So much that we wanted to see was within walking distance and if you couldn't walk, then public transportation was a block away. The valet parking at the hotel was pricey, but also a block away is a huge public parking structure that is very affordable. The lobby is small, but very upscale. The bar seems to be a favorite with locals and was often full of merry makers, but we only walked through. The restaurant was Asian, which is not our favorite, so we never had a meal there. They said they had American breakfasts, but by the time we found that out, we'd discovered the Flying Elephant Deli which is just steps away and we fell in love with it. There's really nothing negative to be said about the place. Were I headed back to Portland, I wouldn't even shop for a hotel, I would just go back to The Paramount. It has everything a traveler could want or need. (OH and if you're going for the Grand Floral Parade, the parade passes just steps away, so it's great for that, too.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What makes this hotel so wonderful is it's cleanliness and location. We found that everything we wanted to see was accessed by walking in the same direction from the hotel. Powells books, Nordstrom rack and other stores, parks, waterfront, Voodoo donuts... all straight out from the hotel. The rooms were clean and updated and the beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 6th floor and did not have any issues with noise whatsoever.

Parking is expensive (all over Portland, really). Rather than pay the valet fees, right across the street from this hotel you'll find the most reasonably priced garage and it is well lit and easy to access.

We'll certainly be back to the Paramount!

Room Tip: Others have said to request a room higher up. We followed that advice and were placed on the 10th fl...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks for your review Joanne R! Hope to have you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,545 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $189 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing