We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As I booked the Paramount, the map made it look like it was on the fringe of things. Not so. In truth, every hotel within the 'downtown zone' has a fantastic location. Its just a matter of how much one is willing to spend. And in Portland, discount travel sites are NOT going to be of much help. $150 (if you're very lucky) to 'the sky is the limit' should be expected.
But I digress....

Paramount Portland is a wonderfully priced, wonderfully situated hotel. Located just inches from the Art and History museum, inches from Pioneer Sq, inches from the Farmers Market, and no more than 3 lite-rail stops from the Saturday Market, Old Town, and the Pearl District. There are lite-rail stops just a short block away.

Right acoss the street from an urban park (and Starbucks), the Paramount is an elegant, beautifully appointed hotel. Rooms are nicely sized and very stylishly decorated. Elevators are plentiful and the staff extremely attentive.

The hotel features all the expected amenities including a well followed sushi restaurant, and an asian themed lounge,both on the first floor. I had a very comfortable stay and would happily return.

Travelers Tip: Valet-ing your car is virtually anavoidable in Portland. And no hotel is going to let you off for less than $30 a day. But once you come to grips with this extra cost, you will enjoy Portland all the more. And the Paramount is a great place it start.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel allow the dawning sun to pour through the windows, and since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portofcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Portofcaller, thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Paramount was the best priced boutique hotel I could find in Downtown Portland. The location is outstanding - close to everything including public transit and right across from a lovely park. The front desk staff was very helpful and our room was really large. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your review KLS1960! There are lots of great reasons to stay with us and you covered most of them, See you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Paramount is located very close to the center of downtown Portland. The rooms are clean, large, and bright. The hotel has small, thoughtful touches like skipping individual shampoo bottles to reduce waste.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was considerably less than comparable hotels but had similarly modern decor, cleanliness and had brighter interior large windows.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phorapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Phorapples, thank you for your review! We aim to offer a good value to our guests so it is always nice to hear that we are doing just that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice location, and great value for your money. The location was perfect also.

I would generally say this is just a 3 star hotel.. but our room was very large (much larger than expected), and the hotel staff was super helpful!

There's not much of a lobby.. nor dinning options. So it feels a bit like an upscale
Ramada Inn. But there's so many great food choices in Portland.. you're never going to eat in house anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modernartobsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hello Modernartobsession,

Thank you for the review. We are a AAA 3-diamond rated hotel and proud of it. We get many comments about our prime location and I appreciate that you felt that you received great value for your money. We do our best to provide just that.

Safe travels,
Norm Hwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The experience got off to a rough start. My husband booked the room for a surprise birthday getaway, he believed he had booked a room with a large glass shower and jacuzzi tub. He said the photos on the site he booked on showed this amenity, but the room we were given did not have this upgraded bath.

When my husband called the desk, they told him he had booked a lesser room and that the upgraded room was $X. My husband informed the desk person that that was what he HAD paid for the room and expected to get what he paid for. He then went down to the desk and the manager changed the story to say that the room with the larger bath was $25 more. My husband argued that he should get the room that was advertised online (after all there are laws against bait and switch) and the manager would not give him the upgrade unless he 'split the difference' with the hotel and paid an additional $15 per night for the room. Really? the upgraded room was not sold and they really thought the extra $30 was worth tainting our impression of the hotel? I'm in the hospitatlity business and for a lousy $25 difference on a room we would have just upgraded it free for good customer service.

Then, this expensive hotel, didn't have instant hot water in the shower. We had to let the shower run a good 7 minutes to get hot water (buy a better recirc pump) and when our room was cleaned the housekeeper did not remove the tea pot or cup and left a glass on the floor outside our room where it stayed for an entire day and night. They also have you sign this 'waiver' when you check in promising not to smoke or they charge you $500...that i understand, but what was silly was the additional statement on the waiver saying we agreed to recieve USA Today and if we didn't they would refund us 75 cents a day for the paper....huh? just tacky.

The rest of the room was nice, comfortable bed and pillows, but our tv also went on the fritz and they couldn't 'reset' it from the desk so my husband had to move a very heavy dresser himself to be able to unplug the tv to get it to reset. I'd say the best thing about this hotel was the location. It was in the heart of downtown making it very easy to get around. But for the $$$, not really worth it. Wouldn't stay again...maybe i would have felt differently if they had made the right customer service decision when the room mix up happened...

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the little park that is across from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greekodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Hello GreekOdyssey,

Thank you for your candid review. It does sound like a rough start magnified other issues with your stay and I apologize for that. Please send me the booking confirmation that your husband received from Hotels.com for your trip. If it was for a different room type than we originally placed you in, I will fully refund your hotel stay for our mistake.

Sincerely
Norm Hwa
General Manager
nhwa@portlandparamount.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We weren't sure which Portland hotel to book for 2 nights (last-minute vacation from Vancouver, BC), but were so happy we chose the Paramount. From the moment we pulled up until the moment we left, everything was spectacular. Doormen and front-desk staff were friendly and helpful and Ed at the Concierge was exceptional. He provided several recommendations, the best being dinner at South Park nearby (will write separate review!). On our way up the elevator to our room, a complete stranger (another traveller) asked us if it was our first stay at the Paramount and when we said yes, proceeded to gush about how much she loves the hotel. I've never had that happen before! When we arrived in our room (1203 I think but might be wrong -- but it's on the west side of the building) we were surprised and amazed to find two champagne glasses, chocolates and 2 small bottles of champagne courtesy of the Sales & Mktg Director, Toni Chandler. When I'd booked the hotel on Expedia.ca, I'd noted in the comments (which I wasn't sure anyone even reads) that my husband and I were on a rare trip without kids -- so Toni had taken the opportunity to provide those perks for us. We were really impressed that the hotel had gone out of its way like that. Thanks again, Toni! OK, on to the functional stuff: Older hotel that is now owned by Coast Hotels, which I've always found to be a good chain. Stylish, old-school-glam lobby and common areas. We had a Deluxe 2 queen room. Room size was good (we hate small hotel rooms!), as was bathroom. Beds seemed slightly smaller than regular queens but were very comfy. View of Portland skyline was lovely. Was nice to have a fridge in the room. Location of hotel was spectacular -- close to everything including Maxx train & streetcar. About 15 minutes door to door via train to the Pearl District shopping/dining areas (get off at the Powell's Books stop). Only a few blocks walk to Pioneer Square/Pioneer Mall from hotel. No pool but small gym (which my husband used for a light workout, said it was fine). Good restaurants in hotel -- Tasting East (Asian fusion) restaurant on one side and Tasting East Bar (which serves small plates too, great for happy hour) on the other. All in all, we were VERY pleased with the Paramount (surprised it's not even more highly rated on Trip Advisor!) and will stay there again when in Portland.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a higher floor to get a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbenaOhene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hello AbenaOhene – Thank you so much for the great review of the Paramount Hotel! I am fortunate to have great employees who love what they do. We hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels,
Norm Hwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. The location is great in that it is close to the Maxx Train line, close to Pioneer Square, and close to lots of restaurants and pubs in downtown Portland. You can walk to most anywhere you want to go in downtown Portland.
The layout on each floor is such that no one shares a wall with the elevator. All the rooms are close to the elevator without being the one room that everyone walks by. That said, room number one on each floor shares a wall with the stairs. These steel stairs and noisy as people plod down the stairs. The closer you are to the bottom floors, the more likely that people will be passing by your floor in the stairs. Room 201 sucked for this reason. The side of the hotel with rooms #1,2 (201, 202, etc) over looks 9th Ave. it is a nice street with cafes etc, but it is a busy street, and the trash trucks seemed to use this street a lot. The morning that the trash truck blew his air horn at 6:45am on 9th street, is where my stress level increased. (This was not a normal occurrence, but did happen while I was there). Room 311 was on the other side of the hotel and seemed much quieter. I causally mentioned to the front desk manager that room 201 sucked, but he didn't take the hint.
OK that is all the bad side of this hotel.
On the good side, the rooms are fairly large for standard hotel type rooms. There is a small 'frig and coffee maker in the room, and a hair dryer.
The bathrooms were also large enough - not closet like. Plenty of hot water that came on fast. The Paramount is concerned about our growing landfills, and has put large dispensers of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the shower, rather than have lots of small bottles go into the landfill.
The restaurant downstairs was open at 6:30am, and had good food, both in Asian and American formats. The bar downstairs is open until midnight and had late night happy hour pricing on some food and beverages. The food here was great for a late night snack. not greasy pub food like most places.
Parking is expensive ($29/night), so I recommend riding the MAXX rail line while staying downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms above Park Ave (Room 311, 310, etc for each floor) are quieter than ones above 9th. (Rooms 201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We appreciate your review Janice V! As they say ‘third times a charm’, come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,592 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $170 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing