We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Night downtown with spouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night downtown with spouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I bought a special package for a night at the Paramount and a gift certificate to the Ringside Seafood restaurant. The staff was really helpful setting up a reservation and changing it when some friends decided to join us. We had 2 individual bottle of champagne and some chocolate waiting for us in the room with a special note, really a nice gesture. It was not the first time for us at the hotel and I am thinking to go there once in a while for a date night with my spouse. There is a lot of bars and restaurant at a walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
What a great date night julie f! Thanks for the review and see you again for the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    351
    63
    30
    10
See reviews for
180
420
57
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Paramount gets it. That's right, the front desk staff, the concierge staff and the housekeeping staff of the Portland Paramount all get what it is that a traveler is looking for in a hotel. I had the privilege to spend six nights there with my family, and we all thoroughly enjoyed each and every evening. It didn't matter to them that I had to get my car in and out of the parking garage 5 times during a day. They got it for me. That I didn't know how to get to Mt. Hood or the Coast wasn't important - they had accurate driving instructions. Restaurants - yup, they knew all of them. And the room - for a mid-priced hotel - was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in. We will be back. You can count on that.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will keep you away from the construction noise on the north end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moisheberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We truly appreciate your review moisheberl, I will be sure to share it with all the staff! Look forward to having you and your family back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed Christmas Eve and Day and everything was wonderful. The valets were so prompt, it was magical. Everyone was helpful. The restaurant is awesome with great drinks.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and had a romantic night view of the city and a great sunrise view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimifrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thanks for making us part of your holidays mimifrances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We chose the Paramount because our children who are moving to Portland were being housed there for a week. It's in a very good location: Starbucks on the corner, Nordstrom across the street, art museum a few blocks away. We appreciated the senior citizen rate and found the room to be very comfortable. If light bothers you at night, you may not want to stay in the rooms in the front of the building as you cannot close the curtain and the room does not get completely dark due to the bright lights in the square across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building get a lot of light throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your review Marlene N! Come back and stay with us again on your next visit to see your children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

As a Christmas present to ourselves, my wife and I spent a couple of nights here in late December. It met all of our expectations. Comfortable rooms in a perfect location with easy access to everything with free public transportation. Portland is a very people friendly city. The Dragonfish also has a good happy hour with $4 wine and $2 - $5 small plates. Best happy hour is at the Ring Fish House. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you don't need your car, parking is cheaper at the public parking lots. My only complaint is the hotel TV package which has no premium channels nor many of the channels we're used to at home.

Room Tip: Join the Coast Hotels to get best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbierdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Happy Holidays tbierdz! Thank you for choosing us as part of your present. Hopefully this will be a new tradition and we will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed for eight nights in early December. Hotel staff are very attentive. Room was very nice with great amenities. Location could not have been better as most of our visit focused on Portland State Music activites. Hotel is in the heart of downtown and very convenient to MAX, streetcars and buses allowing quick access to many of Portland's fine stores, restaurants and services. Highly recommend this superbly managed hotel and its fine staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and compliments! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed for three nights in December. It was very easy to get to the hotel from the airport on MAX - only a two block walk. Doormen were on hand to open the lobby doors, although they did not offer to help with bags (perhaps because I had a roller bag). Check in was welcoming and efficient. Room was standard size and well appointed with desk, lounge chair and ottoman, comfortable bed, dresser, flat screen TV, good lighting. Bathroom had good lighting and usual amenities. However, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were not provided in containers, but instead were in large pump dispensers inside the bath/shower, and were awkward to use. Housekeeping was thorough and efficient. Restaurant downstairs is an asian bistro, but it also served typical breakfast fare at not outrageous prices (notable exception: price of a cup of coffee was bloated) (if all you want is coffee, Starbucks is very close). All in all, a nice hotel providing good value. And the downtown location is terrific. Would be happy to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for the review and comments hrza04a, they are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,298 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#2 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing