We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Not to close to Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Not to close to Downtown”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times. The hotel is very nice and clean. Their toiletries are really nice and smell good.

The rooms have a coffee machine, microwave, and fridge which is great. The TV is good and there is a DVD player in the room.

I don't really have any complaints about this hotel except for it's not really downtown, but it's close. The stop for the MAX is near by also or it's also a cheap cab ride. If you bring a car they do charge for parking. It's about the average cost to park at a hotel downtown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasha0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Portland downtown and we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    282
    75
    33
    26
See reviews for
152
155
64
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I found your hotel to be lovely, quick efficient service in our time of need. Love the pool and hot tub. The front desk staff and shuttle drivers were more than accomadating, they were a blessing. My husband had to have surgery and they arranged the shuttles for us on several different occassions. This was a godsend ,as we are older and get lost in the city. We had tried to find the hospital ourselves but then realized it would be too stressful. The staff arrranged to take us and bring us back. The pool was wonderful to relax in for my husband,as he was very anxious the evening before.
The staff was proffessional, polite, effiecient. Being a front desk agent my self, I appreciated the AAAAAA service. You are all to be commended for a job well done!

Kathleen Fitzpatrick

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frosty079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We appreciate you mentioning that the staff was friendly and helpful; I will let them know they were recognized.
Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

All good until at check out they told me there was a $12/night parking fee and pulled out the invoice for it!!! On a Saturday night downtown Portland when we could barely find an available spot in a paid parking lot, we paid $5 for the night !!! How is it possible that they wuold charge you $12/ night at the hotel, where it's meant to be included in the price or at least notify you up front of the charge. Instead they even make you go back to your car to put a sticker on your dashboard and you are diligently doing that instead of them just taking the license plate of your car like in every other hotel. So, I pay $12/night for parking and they would make me go back to my car just to put their silly sticker, not something i want to be doing after a long day of driving. There is nothing that is more frustrating to me as a gues than hidden fees like that!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmmmm5016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I understand and acknowledge that our parking is not free. Parking in our area is at a premium and our prices are actually slightly lower than other nearby hotels or the metered street parking. In addition we provide valet service and an attendant for your service and security. I apologize that you did not see the signage it is clearly posted on the valet stand as you enter the driveway. Our fees and transportation options are on our website for our guest’s convenience.
I always encourage our guests to utilize our free shuttle to and from the airport thus avoiding having to pay for parking, or park once at our hotel to avoid paying at other locations. Portland has a fantastic transit system and it is even free. We also have bicycles which are free, convenient and fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Great spot for singles as well as families. I've stayed here 3X, alone, with my husband and with my granchildren. All times the staff is accommodating, the food is wonderful with local and fresh produce and the pool is fantastic for the children. We have 2 other trips planned in coming months and will be staying here again. We visit Portland 4-5 times per year and have stayed at vasrious hotels but this now will be our hotel in Portland. If I could recommend any change is that they upgrade the amenities for the Executive level floors and those of us who frequent this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and have returned three times. I shared your suggestions with the staff and we will consider enhancement to our amenities.
We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Portland please let me know if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Check in and check out service was very friendly and quick. The service was excellent from all employees at the hotel. The hotel and room we stayed in were very clean, comfortable, and beautiful. My 8 year old son really liked the indoor pool and spa. We even got a free shuttle from the hotel to the rose garden arena to watch a Trailblazer basketball game. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the Portland area, and will definately stay there again next time I'm in the area. It's definately the best hotel in the area!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TroyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and related services. Being considered the best hotel in the area is important to us and we look forward to seeing you in 2011. Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza and overall had a good stay.

The hotel has a complementary shuttle within 5miles of the hotel, however this is subject to the hotel's discretion.  Specifically we asked if we could have a ride to the zoo which is within 5 miles, and were told it would not be possible as the route that is within those 5 miles would create a problem for the driver on the return.  As well, there are trips to and from the airport which sometimes leave at a set schedule and sometimes do not.  In our case, we asked if we could have a ride at 11:40, but were advised that the next shuttle would run at 12:45, ratifying that the driver would not be able to take us, and be back on time for the 12:45.  Nonetheless, we did make use of the shuttle to be picked up from the airport, and on one trip downtown.  Both of these worked well, and we were driven by Randee, who occasionally drives as he is also the concierge.  He shared his knowledge about the Portland area and made for great conversation.  His customer service is excellent.

Aside form the shuttle, the hotel is well serviced with public transportation.  The walk to the nearest lightrail is about a 5 minute brisk walk and runs fairly often.  There, you are about 10-15 min to downtown, and within the center, it is free to ride.

The service at the front desk is simple.  Don't raise your expectations and you will be fine.

The service at the restaurant and room service is excellent.  The food was fresh and well prepared.

The Internet is complementary, and works well for standard usage.  However, if you need a strong connection it may not work for you.  (Based on a week signal) Not sure if the front desk has any alternatives.

Aside from that, the hotel is clean and serves it's purpose well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dune2Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you identifying our staff member Randee who you found exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I will be sure to recognize him as he is a true professional who takes great pride in his service. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the shuttle and I apologize that it was not immediately available. We try to prioritize airport runs because it offers our guests the greatest value, at times this limits our immediate availability. In regard to the internet service is our free business center is always an option. I also encourage our guests to use utilize our 24 hour support if they are experiencing difficulty. Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

3 of my girlfriends and I decided to go on a last minute roadtrip to Portland. We booked through Hotwire and got the Crowne Plaza for $59 + fees and charges per night. This was a steal as it worked out to $35 per person for both nights! Staff was friendly, quick, and efficient. Checked us in quickly. Hotel was clean and quiet. Room had microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. No safe though.
Great location--Right off the I5 and close to shopping malls (Lloyd Center and Pioner Place), Walmart, Target, and downtown restaurants. No free parking, but it was reasonable at $12/night. Overall, great value and would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissay-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtownand we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#73 of 142 in Portland
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing