We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were there over a weekend. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway with easy access to shopping restaurants and the river. Staff very friendly. Shae at the concierge desk took it upon herself to make our sightseeing as enjoyable as possible. the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff are really helpful. I recommend this hotel for business of pleasure. A safe in the room would help.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alnasir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. I see that you travel a lot so I was pleased with your comments about the staff and service. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    275
    71
    30
    23
See reviews for
143
151
62
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Excellent location with easy access to a variety of Restaurants, Convenient Stores and Convention Center. I would highly recommend staying here if you are attending a trade show or conducting business downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at the Radisson but couldn't get a room for this night. I've passed this Crowne Plaza many times and thought it looked dated so I was reluctant. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is extremely nice. Updated throughout from the lobby to the workout room to the bedroom. The staff was as nice and competent as can be. The location is super accessible to downtown on Max. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a recent conference. There was 8000 in attendance and we knew the hotel would be full! Even when it was full, check in was easy, the room was wonderful and they were attentive to our needs. I really liked the keurig coffee maker and nice amenities in the bathroom.
They provided shuttles to the conference center and any place within a 5 mile radius which helped so we didn't have to rely on public transportation as much. The concierge was wonderful and made our last outing fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and thought it was a great value. I appreciate you pointing out the many amenities we offer that makes our location unique.
Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was at the hotel for 5 nights for a convention. The location is perfect for the convention center. It is an easy walk to the center but they also offer shuttle service.

The hotel is very clean. The lobby is nice and the gym is very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent and if you book a stay, I suggest you book the breakfast rate with your rate as it will be cheaper.

The area is very safe to walk around and there are several restaurants in walking distance.

I was impressed with the hotel and will be staying there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidTMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. We are happy you enjoyed the many amenities that are complimentary and set us apart.
Thanks for staying and please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent last night at the hotel and really enjoyed our time. Check in was great--quick and we got the feeling that they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. Our room was great!!! So quiet, comfy bed, dark room with a great night light, keurig coffee maker, great pillows and nice decor. Wish we could have spent time in the hot tub and pool but just didn't have time. We met our NYC friend who was in Portland for a conference so we wanted to find something to do. The concierge, Shaye, was so helpful and finding us a great Peruvian Restaurant with music. She was even able to make reservations on late notice. Good fun. The next day we got a late check out and really enjoyed our morning. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertandPatty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to personally recognizing Shae for her outstanding service.
Thanks for staying we hope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Spent a lot of time on Tripadvisor trying to find a quality hotel in Portland for a quick family trip. We finally settled on the this hotel because it wasn't Right in the middle of downtown, yet it wasn't more then 5 minutes away. We were particularly interested in getting a VERY CLEAN room that wasn't run down. We thought the Crowne Plaza would offer and exceptional hotel experience and so this is where we booked. ...........First impression when we drove up was that the Crowne Plaza misrepresented itself in the tripadvisor photos. It was much older looking and the parking lot didn't look secure at all. However, the Valet was a very pleasant young man, and that was reassuring. Then we got inside and our room was not ready, but they offered us a downgraded room that was ready. As we were tired, we accepted the downgrade. My only issue with this is that I still had to pay the same amount. Room was in fact very clean! Beds were comfortable. And the A/C heater worked! Dining staff was pleasant and food was good. Check out was easy and fast. Clean pool and work out room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. I am sorry that your room type was not immediately available I will address the situation.
Thanks for staying we hope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 139 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing