We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorba Linda
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and that is just for starters! You can rent a car from Hertz right in the hotel! They provide a shuttle to and from the airport, but if it is going to take them 30 minutes or more to reach the airport, they will pay for a taxi! Amazing! They will also shuttle you to downtown! Just remember to tip the awesome people who work there.
If you are lucky enough to get Melody or Bryan to assist you, you will have a Wonderful stay. The rooms are large and very comfortable.
There are bikes for rent and the bath stuff smells great!!!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call both the hotel directly and the chain. See who gives you the best rate. Also ask about their...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is Portland, they are super Green here. You can rent a bike. You can choose if you want to reuse your towels or have them changed every day.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our hotel a great value. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. I will also enjoy recognizing Brian and Melody for their outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    284
    75
    33
    26
See reviews for
153
156
64
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

we stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Nov. 29th to be close enough to see Pearl Jam, playing at the Rose Quarter. The room we had was tiny, but the bed was very nice. we had a crappy view of the roof and we were directly above the laundry room so noise was an issue. We did however enjoy a really good ribeye from the room service menu...delicious.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8_n_xtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall. Thanks for pointing out that our location in the closest to the Rose Garden arena making us the perfect location for overnight concert event.
I hope you enjoyed the show, let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Attending to trauma at a local hospital put my wife and I in need of an oasis away from the pain and suffering. We opted to stay at the Crown Plaza for our respite. What a great decision! From the desk clerk through the restaurant staff, the visit was pleasant and just what we needed.

Room Tip: If you're attending to patients in the local hospital, this is your best bet to relax and unwind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livvie-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review my staff and I really appreciate it when people notice. I am so glad we were able to provide you with the respite while you were attending to your loved ones recovery. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lucky enough to win a discounted room on a travel site bid at this hotel, I was immediately impressed with the keen attention to my needs when the Concierge offered to check me in so that I did not have to wait behind the two people who were already being helped at the counter.
As I entered the hotel, I noticed comfortable touring bicycles in the atrium that were available to borrow during my stay.
Within the room were little perks such as:
- A (removable) clip on the curtains to hold them together, providing a completely dark room for uninterrupted sleep no matter what time of day you need it.
- Spa packet on the bed with relaxing spray and lotions.
- Keurig coffee / tea maker with a selection of tea and coffee pods (conventional, non-organic).
Within the convenience shop in the lobby, I found great grab and go items such as fruits, single serving ice creams and Umpqua on the go oatmeal cups plus many other options.

The bar has a great happy hour where I enjoyed a glass of wine for only $4 and was surprised by the huge and generous helping of shrimp in their po'boy. Their people remembered me each day and treated me like I was important and appreciated. The breakfast was decent and I was delighted and surprised by organic tea available to me in the restaurant and hope to see it in the room next time.

The indoor pool and whirlpool were fabulous, the workout space could use a little attention with regard to making certain the television / sound systems work on each of the machines but overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed informative review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and friendly staff. Thanks for mentioning the quality of, and extensive amenities that make us unique. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the minute I called to make a change in my reservation until the minute we checked out, the entire experience was perfect. I spent a birthday weekend in Portland and the hotel was a great home base. We called the hotel for a ride from the train station, and they were there within minutes. And then as soon as we checked in, my husband asked the restaurant if we could take a couple of glasses of wine to our room, and they were very accommodating.

The room was comfortable, well-equipped and spacious, and the view from the 9th floor was awesome. Loved the Keurig, bathrobes and black-out drapes. Bathroom amenities and the aromatherapy sleep kit were amazing. And we loved coming back to the pool and hot tub after a long day of walking. The weekend was flawless, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Executive King rooms include robes (perfect for going to the spa) and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your insightful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to sharing your recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. Currently we are ranked number 13 of the entire chain of Crowne Plaza Hotels in hotel overall satisfaction, I am so glad you can tell. My team I hope you tell many friends and return often.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We traveled to Portland in early November to see the Trailblazers vs Rockets game as well as do some shopping. Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was very enjoyable. Randy checked us in and was quick to give us great recommendations for things to do in Portland as well as making arrangements for us to take the shuttle to our pickup location. The breakfast buffet was amazing and had everything we needed to satisfy an empty stomach. The location of the hotel was great for going to the basketball game but lacked good bar and restaurant options. I guess that is mostly towards the other side of Downtown. The other Concierge Shae was also very friendly and helpful with directions to everywhere we needed to go. (I hope i remembered/spelled their names correctly) We would stay again at the Crowne plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Abrahamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you identifying our staff members Randee and Shae who you found exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I will be sure to recognize them as they are a true professional who takes great pride in the service they deliver. Please feel free to call on me if I can be of assistance in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

It has changed though. It used to offer free coffee in the mornings and now it doesn't. Starbucks has invaded and put a machine there you pay and it serves you coffee.
The staff are friendly as always and the rooms are nice. A little on the expensive side for what it is though. I guess its location?

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and appreciated our friendly service my staff and I aspire to deliver consistently. I am glad that you mentioned we now serve Starbucks coffee in the restaurant as well as offering barista style drinks in the lobby. We still offer free coffee in each guest room from our premium Keurig machines with a selection of premium coffee and tea. I truly appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to serve you again and we look forward to your return; please give me a call if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 142 in Portland
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing