We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delighters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #46 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected delighters”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lucky enough to win a discounted room on a travel site bid at this hotel, I was immediately impressed with the keen attention to my needs when the Concierge offered to check me in so that I did not have to wait behind the two people who were already being helped at the counter.
As I entered the hotel, I noticed comfortable touring bicycles in the atrium that were available to borrow during my stay.
Within the room were little perks such as:
- A (removable) clip on the curtains to hold them together, providing a completely dark room for uninterrupted sleep no matter what time of day you need it.
- Spa packet on the bed with relaxing spray and lotions.
- Keurig coffee / tea maker with a selection of tea and coffee pods (conventional, non-organic).
Within the convenience shop in the lobby, I found great grab and go items such as fruits, single serving ice creams and Umpqua on the go oatmeal cups plus many other options.

The bar has a great happy hour where I enjoyed a glass of wine for only $4 and was surprised by the huge and generous helping of shrimp in their po'boy. Their people remembered me each day and treated me like I was important and appreciated. The breakfast was decent and I was delighted and surprised by organic tea available to me in the restaurant and hope to see it in the room next time.

The indoor pool and whirlpool were fabulous, the workout space could use a little attention with regard to making certain the television / sound systems work on each of the machines but overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed informative review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and friendly staff. Thanks for mentioning the quality of, and extensive amenities that make us unique. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    282
    75
    33
    25
See reviews for
151
154
64
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the minute I called to make a change in my reservation until the minute we checked out, the entire experience was perfect. I spent a birthday weekend in Portland and the hotel was a great home base. We called the hotel for a ride from the train station, and they were there within minutes. And then as soon as we checked in, my husband asked the restaurant if we could take a couple of glasses of wine to our room, and they were very accommodating.

The room was comfortable, well-equipped and spacious, and the view from the 9th floor was awesome. Loved the Keurig, bathrobes and black-out drapes. Bathroom amenities and the aromatherapy sleep kit were amazing. And we loved coming back to the pool and hot tub after a long day of walking. The weekend was flawless, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Executive King rooms include robes (perfect for going to the spa) and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your insightful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to sharing your recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. Currently we are ranked number 13 of the entire chain of Crowne Plaza Hotels in hotel overall satisfaction, I am so glad you can tell. My team I hope you tell many friends and return often.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We traveled to Portland in early November to see the Trailblazers vs Rockets game as well as do some shopping. Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was very enjoyable. Randy checked us in and was quick to give us great recommendations for things to do in Portland as well as making arrangements for us to take the shuttle to our pickup location. The breakfast buffet was amazing and had everything we needed to satisfy an empty stomach. The location of the hotel was great for going to the basketball game but lacked good bar and restaurant options. I guess that is mostly towards the other side of Downtown. The other Concierge Shae was also very friendly and helpful with directions to everywhere we needed to go. (I hope i remembered/spelled their names correctly) We would stay again at the Crowne plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Abrahamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you identifying our staff members Randee and Shae who you found exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I will be sure to recognize them as they are a true professional who takes great pride in the service they deliver. Please feel free to call on me if I can be of assistance in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

It has changed though. It used to offer free coffee in the mornings and now it doesn't. Starbucks has invaded and put a machine there you pay and it serves you coffee.
The staff are friendly as always and the rooms are nice. A little on the expensive side for what it is though. I guess its location?

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and appreciated our friendly service my staff and I aspire to deliver consistently. I am glad that you mentioned we now serve Starbucks coffee in the restaurant as well as offering barista style drinks in the lobby. We still offer free coffee in each guest room from our premium Keurig machines with a selection of premium coffee and tea. I truly appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to serve you again and we look forward to your return; please give me a call if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times when attending events at the Rose Quarter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant had delicious food and friendly staff as well. Since there were several of us going to the Rose Quarter, they even had a shuttle available to drive us there. It was a short walk back to the hotel. I probably wouldn't walk it in the dark alone, but with others it was fine. The prices are very reasonable for this prime location. We will definitely keep coming back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are very proud that we have earned your return business; we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. One of the valet guys was helpful in giving us ideas for things to see in the area. The room was quiet and bed comfortable. Our room wasn't ready so they gave us another room. It was the handicap room so there wasn't any counter space in the bathroom. It was our mistake because we agreed to take it. It was still very nice and you didn't have to wait for the hot water--it was immediately available. We were on the top floor and didn't hear a thing except for an occasional police siren. It is close to the public transportation and downtown as well as the big Lloyd shopping center. Multnomah Falls is an easy 30 mile drive from the hotel. We didn't eat at the small restaurant but did have a drink in the bar. My only complaint is they charge $18 a day to park your car in their small lot. It seems that Portland charges for parking wherever you go so maybe it is the culture there. If the parking fee was gone, I would stay here again. The area around the hotel is a little questionable so I wouldn't feel safe walking around at night.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer the option of using your towels again to save the planet and also have a recycling waste can available so you can recycle your water bottles, newspaper, soda cans etc.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review; we value all feedback received. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and I have taken your comments about parking under advisement. We constantly monitor full service hotels parking prices and services to insure that we are an excellent value when considering all the amenities offered. Currently our parking prices are comparable to full service hotels in our immediate area and half the price of the west side properties. We are also the only hotel that has a free airport shuttle so if one is able to not rent a car our shuttle is can save you hundreds of dollars. Portland has a fantastic transit system and it even free in our area. We also have free bikes which are a fun alternative when visiting Portland; by the way we are the number one biking city in the USA. Hope you will consider us in the future please feel free to call on me if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Advantages: good on-site food, nice room, walking distance to public transportation. Disadvantages: hote shuttle service unreliable (had to wait 40 minutes to be picked up from airport and unable to schedule shuttle to take us downtown or to dinner due to lack of availability), hotel seems to cater to airline crews which for us meant waiting to check in as the airline crew was helped before us even though we were in line to check in first; the room walls are paper thin so we could easily hear doors opening and closing as well as traffic noise; we were promised one room when we first arrived (on the 9th floor) but were switched to a room on the 2nd floor right above the laundry room which just added to the noise. Overall disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sally04olive09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s location and restaurant. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle however I do want to apologize that you had to wait, generally we prioritize airport runs because it offers our guests the greatest value, at times this limits our immediate availability to transport guest to local destinations.
In order not to confuse future guests I wanted to let them know that our walls are solid concrete cinder block so sound proofing is excellent. I hope that you contact me directly, with some further information I can investigate your experience which is unusual and disappointing. Thanks for staying and my apologies that your stay was not perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 142 in Portland
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing