We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and adorable room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location and adorable room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June - and were thoroughly impressed. We had one of the corner rooms on the top floor (worth the extra $) and could open two sets of doors to mini balconies to really make the room fantastic. The staff was helpful in storing our luggage (as we got to Portland 5 hours before we could check in), The restaurant downstairs has awesome breakfast, the location is fantastic, the room was unique and comfortable, and the pool was a great addition. During the week - we were the only people in the pool. So relaxing!
You can take alcohol to the pool but it has to be in a plastic container - the bar will provide if needed- or grab a cup and some beer from World Market next door.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms on the top floor - worth the extra money for a large private bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassierunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Our goal is to give each of our guest an enjoyable experience. We hope you'll come and visit, your next stay in downtown Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    110
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
132
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

OK, so compared to the boutique hotels in the downtown area, the Crystal is a bargain. Yeah, you might have to share a bathroom and the noise from the streets is a little loud, but the location is perfect and it's a quirky, fun jaunt, much like many of the other McMenamin places. Parking might be an issue if you're not ready for it, since you have to park in a parking garage, but pack light, enjoy the location and you'll have a great time. Numerous restaurants are nearby, your stay gives you soaking pool and (perhaps) movie ticket (to the Mission) privileges as well. My wife and I were here for a quick anniversary trip and loved being able to walk all over downtown Portland from here, from Chinatown to the Park blocks is all rather convenient, if you've got good walking shoes and a sense of adventure (no negative pun intended). I just mean, as long as you're willing to do a little walking (which I always recommend versus driving in cities), you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We hope you'll get a chance to stay with us in the future. We're aiming for that 5th star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

He staff at the reception is awesome. The room are in old rock style, but is annoying not to have a private bathroom, ok i sin the center but spending 140 US Dollars, per night, withoutout a restroom in the room is not very comfy. The floor are not straight so you got a weird sensation while you walk, the room are not sound proof so if somebody is having fun, or tarffic noise, it can really disturb you. Clean and safe just a one night stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dave, thank you for taking the time to review us. Though we weren't the best hotel during your stay, we appreciate you giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Crystal is certainly a fun hotel for those who like quirky, arty rooms in downtown. The location for the hotel is awesome and you have direct access to a number of downtown restaurants and shops. Whole Foods (aka Whole Paycheck) is across the street to stock up. Each room has a different music theme - we were in the Soul and Body Room on the third floor. Room is decent size (not too small, not too large) and there were about three shared bathrooms and showers. Never had a problem with using a bathroom or crowding on the floor. Soaking pool in the lower level is a great way to recharge - you can have drinks just no glass in the pool. Parking is a bit pricey (25 a day if you wish to have in and out privileges), so this does need to be factored into cost. Even with this the place is reasonable. No noise issues for us.

The bars and restaurants attached to the hotel are solid, not spectacular. However, the early and late happy hour deals are good - the water buffalo slider burger at happy hour is a highlight. You can also order a glass of beer rather than a full pint if you want to take it slow. Crystal Ballroom is nearby - good punk rock night on Mondays.

I would recommend the hotel for the young and the young-at-heart. Again, just note the cost of parking.

Room Tip: Review your room options - there is a good chance there is a room that fits your musical taste or fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We look forward to your next visit. We hope to get that 1/2 a star rating from you... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 2 days at the Crystal Hotel, perfectly content in the fact that yes, it was small and noisy and no it didn't have a television or bathroom. Honestly, we are not that hard to please. All we require is a bed. The decor of Crystal Hotel was awesome and we loved the salt water soaking pool. It was alright that there wasn't a television because we stayed out fairly late and just crashed when we came back. The bed was eh...It smelt very strongly of bleach. As far as how the bathrooms went, there was always a vacant room open whenever I needed to use it. Showers were fine and the water stayed hot. We stayed in the Drunken Angel room and it was noisy outside but they provide earplugs in your drawers if you needed them. Since they have free wifi, we were able to access movies on our laptop so no TV was needed!

Cutting to the chase - Let me first say, I have had absolutely no problems with my hairdryer. Zero. It's was awesome quality and was super expensive. Boy, will I sure miss it. Upon plugging it into the outlet on our last day it cut out while I was drying my hair and literally exploded. The outlet caught on fire! ON FIRE. When my husband brought up the problem with the guy at the front desk, he showed absolutely no concern. Instead, saying that it was probably my hairdryer and that "It's electricity." Are you serious? When an electrical fire happens, there should be an inspection to see whether or not that fire traveled. My husband had to continue to complain for them to actually check on the outlet to see if it was faulty wiring. I was absolutely flabbergasted that they treated this incident as a simple problem. We have worked in retail and totally understand problematic customers. Even if it was my dryer, they should have taken this seriously because bottom line, this was very dangerous. He made us feel as though we were criminals for bringing this to their attention. He began to start spouting off about how if he comped our stay, his boss would be upset. Prior to this we never even said anything about wanting a free stay! It hadn't even crossed our minds!

Anyway in the end, he called up the maintenance guy (who knew nothing about where the outlet was located) who asked, "the one by the sink?" Which makes me believe they knew about this before. The front staff asked him whether or not it could have been the wiring or my dryer and he simply said "I would have to look at the outlet." THANK YOU.

Parking was comped, but...again, not the point. Prior to today, I started recommending the hotel to my friends but, after how we were treated, I no longer will be.

Room Tip: Remember to bring your computer or tablets to watch Netflix!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Christanabee, thank you for taking the time to write our review. You could have rated us worse, based on the subject in the review. Goodness. As I read this, there sounds like a need for training.
Rich, the hotel assistant manager says he spoke with you, and he believes he's compensated you in a way that you found appropriate. It's difficult to erase that experience, once you've lived it, but we will take this unfortunate experience and learn from it, grow from it, and better our customer service interactions.
I do want to thank you for your time, and if and when we get you back to stay with us, I hope you see the difference.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This historic hotel is a McMinneman's property, a tell right there. Rich with stories of music, mobsters and money the Crystal Hotel is right off Burnside across from the Brewer's Building. Rooms are small and lovely, each dedicated to a particular song so choose carefully (only kidding!) and each with a sink. Four or five full baths on each floor and wasn't at all inconvenienced by the share. Very clean and bed and linens were all great. Unlike some more expensive hotels in the area, this room was absolutely silent. Soaking tub in the lower level and on site bar and restaurant make this place a real winner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel... we're happy that you enjoyed staying with us.
I personally hope you'll get an opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A gift that keeps on giving, there's so much to love about the Crystal Hotel. Sure, the bathroom is down the hall, the rooms are smallish, but you can't help but enjoy this quirky hotel in downtown Portland. If you've never stayed in a McMenamin's property, do yourself a favor and book a stay immediately!
That being said, be aware this is no Mariott. Some may find this hotel out of their comfort zone. And that's sad. The hotel occupies a triangular property, hence its' triangular shape, which gives one the first hint that this is going to be no ordinary stay. It's difficult to describe all the little touches that make this place unique. All the (vintage) lamps are different. Each room has a theme. The saltwater soaking pool (not quite hot enough to qualify as a hot tub) is big enough to swim laps, located in a funky, dimly-lit bamboo-walled basement room. The hotel location is adjacent to the Pearl District, a few blocks from the heart of downtown, 2 blocks from a huge food truck "pod" (with 60 food truck choices), and a short drive to Portland's oddly named Washington Park (zoo, rose garden, great Japanese garden). Two bars and a full service restaurant occupy the bottom floors of the same building. All this for under $100.
The only times our closest bathroom (a few steps away) was occupied seemed to be when it was being cleaned. Which was all the time, many times a day. On our floor, there were 4 bathrooms for, I think, about 12 rooms. So you're never more than a few steps from yet another bathroom. Plus each room is equipped with your own sink. Outside of Europe, we've never stayed in a bathroom-less room, but neither my wife nor I had any issues with that. Keep in mind, other hotels in the same district cost $80-$100/night more! I hesitate to even write about the bathroom thing, it was such a non-issue.
Suffice it to say we thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay at the Crystal. We came for the bargain, were then pleasantly surprised by all the wonderful quirky amenities provided by this McMenamins experience. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel... we work hard trying to get things right, and sometimes, we're just not the right hotel for people. Then there are those that love us, like you!! Thank you so much!! We hope you'll get the chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#17 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#45 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Portland
Ace Hotel Portland
#58 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,388 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: 303 SW 12th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2302
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across the street from the legendary Crystal Ballroom, the Crystal Hotel has 51 comfortable guestrooms, each inspired by a song or performance from the Crystal Ballroom's past 100 years. Colorfully painted panels and headboards anchor the rooms, while deeply-hued walls, black velvet drapery and animal print upholstery lend a rock ‘n’ roll vibe. Large windows afford views of the city from all angles. Room rates include admission to the soaking pool and the opportunity to purchase tickets to the Crystal Ballroom show. With the inclusion of the Zeus Café and free live music at Al’s Den, this downtown hotel combines dining, relaxation and rock and roll history in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing