We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Portland Favorites”
Review of Little Bird Bistro

Little Bird Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Bird Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE
Transit: The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street. The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.
Redlands CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of our Portland Favorites”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Little Bird has never disappointed us. We love the French driven foods and preparations. reservations are a must.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dcozad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    133
    63
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I made a reservation for our last night of vacation in Portland for 3 of us. We heard good things so were were excited, and I'm glad to say we were so happy with everything!
We tried the cassoulet of duck leg, pork belly, sausage & white beans, the duck lyonnaise, pommes aligot, raclette, poached duck egg, grainy mustard, and a special of the night that was steak au poivre with mushroom risotto and a veggie I forget. All meals were lovely and we split two decadent desserts, the creme burlee of the night and the apple tarte tatin. So good!
We had a great meal, great wine, and when the checks were taken care of we loved the tiny little macaroons that were included.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just delicious”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Saturday night , fantastic service and food that rivals the greats in San Francisco. Plus, my group had 3 little ones with us. Yes, we were a little crazy but I think its actually important to expose kids to fine dining every now and then so they know what is expected of them in those situations. What really made this experience fabulous was how warm the staff was even with a baby in tow. When you couple great food with great people its bound to be a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NessieWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Located just off the TriMet Max light rail line and bus stop @ SW 6th & W Burnside”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I believe this was a converted storefront at one time, from days gone by.
Dress is smart & casual in a restaurant with a small intimate bar.
From the sidewalk, you are able to view the Kitchen. Kitchen staff are young, competent and produces winning food.

The food quality and desserts made up for this lack of service.

Cotes de Thongue, Domaine Montrose Rose – light and tangy

Grilled Pork Chop with poached pears and hazelnut-parsnip puree
The grilled pork – work of art and it tasted like pork loin with the bone – soft, tender and juicy.
Pan Roasted Duck Breast, pommes aligot, fontina, duck egg, apples

Dark Chocolate Creme Brulee
Pear Baba with raspberry sauce – soft, succulent, lite. The perfect way to end a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food Excellently Prepared”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Little Bird does not have the edginess and experimentation of flavors and textures of Le Pigeon. It's a French bistro and its very well done. I had the French Onion Soup to begin. It was prepared just right. The delicate sweetness of the onions was not overpowered by either the hint of cheese or the broth. My wife had the moules frites, mussels and fries, and it was done perfectly. I had the cassoulet with white beans, vegetables, duck leg, sausage and pork belly. Huge portion. My wife had the skate over a sea food bouillabaisse. Both were excellent. Our service was impeccable. Dutiful but not fawning. My wife had a glass of Bourgogne Blanc which went with her meal and it was reasonable priced. Little Bird is a celebration of food. It's a small restaurant and you will be seated close to another party. So, it might not be the place for a romantic get away, but if you want great food reasonably priced Little Bird may be for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bird Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Little Bird Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing