We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but a little too exotic. Some of the combinations were strange.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Bird Bistro

Little Bird Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Bird Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE
Transit: The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street. The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but a little too exotic. Some of the combinations were strange.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I liked the boutique atmosphere and it was a good location. The service was very good and if I weren't such a "comfort food" kind of gal, I would probably have liked it more. I also thought it was a little spendy for a luncheon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TukosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    127
    60
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This restaurant is a sister restaurant to Le Pigeon in the Portland area which is another great restaurant. Being downtown parking can be an issue but there is a parking garage around the corner. Great menu selection and friendly wait staff. Very vibrant clientele.
Definately worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Popular Spot in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great new restaurant. Several friends recommended and they were right on. Make sure you give it a try.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoffmnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“French classics updated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Intimate bistro-style decor with a funny bird theme in the heart of downtown. Food was very very good and they are not afraid to offer things like marrow bones and steak tartare. Good wine list and the server offered very good wine advice. He did have just the hint of attitude, though, which keeps me from giving it 5 stars, but I would absolutely go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnetheRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, but service questionable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

So we visited Little Bird without a reservation and we were sat at the bar. The food was good, some was great. However, the service was not great for a restaurant of this caliber. We ordered a bottle of wine and the server asked us if we wanted it decanted, we said yes. Then, she returned with the wine in a decanter. Now, we have traveled a lot and never had a wine decanted outside the table, but what bothered us was that he mentioned it to her and her answer was "Well, that's how we do it here." "Well sir, thats how we do it, period.". Really! Well, that's not how to talk to a customer. That did put a sour note on our experience, so the food was good, my pork was great and his hanger steak was well cooked, but do you want to spend $200.00 to dine if they will talk to you like that? Absolutely not. I had just returned from dining in the wine country and these people should get a customer service lesson. Or, you, the customer, have a lower expectation.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDPRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bird Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Little Bird Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing