We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Choice Restaurant”
Review of Sunshine Tavern

Sunshine Tavern
Ranked #693 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Sunshine Tavern is the quintessential Portland tavern: Warm, comfortable, playful and most of all, fun. Come in for a quick bite and a drink, or hang out all night. Enjoy simple, un-fussy tavern comfort food made with high-quality ingredients.
Pdx, OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2nd Choice Restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It seems like I only go to Sunshine by default when other restaurants are closed or super busy.

The food is nothing special though the service is good and they are earnest in wanting you to have a nice experience. The place is usually fraught with children tearing around, which is ok if you can knock a couple drinks back quickly.

The plates are spendy for what you get--small salads for 8 bucks, a very meager ham sandwich for $12 and an oyster sandwich on a round brioche bun with 4 oysters on it for $12. The oyster sandwich should be called "The Cole Slaw sandwich" because that's what it tasted like. The pizza was small and unremarkable except for the high price. Sunshine serves a meager repast in an area that has great restaurants. Beers are $5 a pint, but they are honest pints.

This isn't a destination restaurant unless you have kids and want to have them distracted by video games and shuffleboard. Then by all means go there. I wish I could say Sunshine is a destination restaurant, because the young staff really try hard and are attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UnBuenTipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thermal, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One bad apple”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Food was alright. We were there for brunch on a weekend and sat at the bar while waiting for outside seating. The waitress working the bar was beyond rude from the second we sat down. She was standing right in front of where we were sitting making other drinks (4 other people sitting at the bar). She ignored us completely for almost 10 min. To break the ice we asked which bloody mary she was making (couple of different types on the menu). She snapped back "they all look the same, the difference in ingredients is on the menu in front of you". It was down hill from there. She didn't stop until we were completely fed up and started to be equally rude back, only then did she slightly change her attitude. Would never go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't fear the pig ear!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Sit outside on a sunny summer day and enjoy a cold one while you scarf down something tasty and unique. Yes, it can be a little noisy from the traffic, but after one bite you'll forget everything else. The drink menu covers it all, no matter what you're thirsty for, but the food is where this place shines. If you're fearless, go for the Crispy Pig Ear Sandwich--it's amazing! Crispy, chewy, packed with flavor. I've never seen this on a menu before and it was love at first bite.

Great service, great menu. I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotDogCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative dishes!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was blown away by the menu at Sushine Tavern. All of the dishes are unique and creative. My friend and I each ordered one of their pizzas...I got the asparagus one, and she got the one with the hen egg. Both were ridiculously flavorful. Everything that we saw come out of the kitchen looked delicious. The service was a little bit slow, and it was a tad pricey, but definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fryauffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It is about the creative and delicious food!!!! Yum!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a busy and noisy location. A bit hard to hear when you are a twosome out for a nice meal....NOW, hear this! The food and drink we had was very creative and very delicious.

We stared with a Tequila Old Fashion...The best! Light and dark tequila mixed with hints of grapefuit and orange...fresh, bright and worth splitting a second one...Really. Not something do.

We were not very hungry but the cold salad with the hot fries were a delectable treat. The Pate" was just the right touch of flavors and the right amount. It appeared that others were ordering an assortment of young Saturday budget worthy Pizzas, Chicken and etc, But we were wowed by the creative and delicous treats and will definitely be back!

Thanks for such inovative taste treats! Try something different...you will not be sorry!

The place is a little kitchy but I would rather have the money spent on food rather than furniture! Lovely, tasty, and just right!.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jemada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing