We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic”
Review of Aviary

Aviary
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 7/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #213 of 4,993 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th Street and 18th Street
Description: Located in the Alberta Arts district of Northeast Portland, Aviary combines industrial design with local art, reclaimed wood from the original site, and locally crafted lighting. With a chef's counter and a seasonal patio. Chef Sarah Pliner crafts an eclectic menu of small plates inspired by France and Asia. The wine list draws from boutique wineries in France and the Pacific Northwest with a cocktail list with seasonal infusions.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

This was like having tapas.......We ordered 4 items and a cerviche of scallops, prawns, mussels and clams. The Chicken roulade was good, the Hoisin glazed beef brisket was good. Interesting blend of items and sauces. Well presented but overall portions not very big and not all temps were hot enough. It is an expensive neighborhood restaurant. It might appeal for those seeking unique eating experience. Two of us (older) do not need to revisit. This is an avant garde dining experience

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OMGYumYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderfully entertaining evening sitting at the Chef’s Counter, watching the non-stop action in the kitchen. The dishes they turned out were fantastic, the atmosphere fun and a little quirky. Chef Pliner and her team create well-developed, creative dishes that are truly memorable, combining complementary and complex flavors without being overly complicated. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TravelHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We tried Aviary during Portland Dining Month in March. One of our favorite parts of the meal was actually the dipping sauce for the bread before your meal. It was incredible! Some mix of butter, white wine, shallots, and other yummy ingredients. The portions were on the small size, and we are not big eaters to begin with. The service was great and the food was very good though.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alandmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Aviary has been a creative center for interesting food since the day it opened. We went during dining month ($33 for three courses). We split a chestnut soup and a gravlax for teh first course. The soup was sweet but with numerous secondary notes, complex and interesting. The smoked salmon on olive cake was smooth and silky, several very nice bites of gorgeous fish. The the mains, my son had the hoisin braised brisket and I had the trout The trout was perfect, with a crispy skin, but the brisket was even better, tangy and rich. For dessert we split the very good citrus tart but the chocolate miso torte blew it away, so rich and offset interestingly by the cardamom ice cream. Aviary has always known how ot paly with interesting flavors, and they have not lost their touch

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PdxMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

We went here for the three course meal during Portland Dining Month. The food, service and atmosphere were amazing.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank skyoceanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviary also viewed

 

Been to Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing