We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talented chef”
Review of Aviary

Aviary
Reserve with OpenTable
Aviary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #323 of 4,323 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th Street and 18th Street
Description: Located in the Alberta Arts district of Northeast Portland, Aviary combines industrial design with local art, reclaimed wood from the original site, and locally crafted lighting. With a chef's counter, communal table and a seasonal patio. Three co-chefs, Sarah Pliner, Jasper Shen, and Kat Whitehead, collaborate on an eclectic menu of small plates inspired by France and Asia. Leah Moorhead's wine list draws from boutique wineries in France and the Pacific Northwest with a cocktail list with seasonal infusions.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“talented chef”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The reviews talked about Chef Sarah Pliners ability with ingredients so I was drawn to this restaurant knowing I would be experiencing small plates with different herbs and quality ingredients and I was happy I chose to eat at Aviary. the three of us shared 7 plates all with unique seasonings and textures. I would say this is the place for people who like to savor the different flavors of spices as they blend and stand out in each dish.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Helpful?
Thank leformi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exquisite Cuisine!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Finding good restaurants in Portland is not hard, but Aviary makes its best to find its own culinary space. I tried from the cheapest and wonderfully diverse food carts to haute cuisine. From all the high-end cuisine I tried, as part of the Restaurant Dining Month, Aviary takes the lead on the creative and tasteful combination of quality ingredients: I had a chilled zucchini soup with green grapes, croutons, two long crispy pieces of serrano ham, pieces of mint, and the surprise (more for texture than flavor): almond milk shaped as tiny ravioli that dissolve in your mouth like egg yolks. I then had a wonderfully seasoned skate wings and a creme fraiche cheesecake with sweet-and-sour raspberries. And the best, no pretentious attitude!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMCP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Delicious & Unusual Meal in Portland”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Last night we had a delicious dinner at Aviary in the NE (Alberta arts) district of Portland. The restaurant was beautifully decorated with a main dining area in the front, outdoor dining in a courtyard in front of the restaurant, a bar in the rear and a cute little room with a garage door leading to a very nice garden in the back. The food was very unusual but absolutely delicious. The wait staff was extremely attentive and very friendly. When you sit at your table, and reach underneath, you will feel a foam cushion. This is not for tall people as knee protectors as we thought. It helps with dampening the sound that bounces off the concrete floor - clever! We had the zucchini mint soup and the chicken-skin salad. Both were excellent. For our main courses we had the Skate and the Curried Goat. Both were delicious. The Skate was lighter and more of a summer dish, whereas the Goat was heavier and more of a winter dish - but both would be delicious any time of the year. For dessert we had the chocolate ganache. We would definitely eat there again and try out other dishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielsonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A super dinner in Portland”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopped for dinner in Portland. Selected Aviary after extensive web search of menus. Thought it would be good, but it more than lived up to expectations. This was genuinely an exciting and rewarding dinner. Ordered four small plates to share. Japanese eggplant with tomato,miso, and dill. We love eggplant: this was unusual, tasty, genuinely different. Pork belly braised in dashi with turnup, mustard greens, and ginger caramel--weird, tender, flavorful, definitely one of the better pork belly dishes we have encountered. Sweet and sour monkfish with pork dumpling, pineapple, green been, and monkfish liver. Also unusual and like nothing we've ever had before. The liver was a great treat. Texturally a bit like foie gras, but more varied. Fascinating and delightful. The most interesting of all was pig's ear with coconut rice, chinese sausage, and avocado. A weird but delightful melange. Many complicated and different flavors, but surprisingly well integrated. Washed it down with a bottle of dry muscat. Felt well fed, but thought we should give so good a restaurant a chance at showing what it could do with a sweet, so ordered stout cake: not to sweet; great flavor; excellent all around. Serious, imaginative, varied food. As such things go, a real bargain. Service was attentive, cheerful, professional, informal and altogether satisfactory. If we lived in Portland, we'd be regulars. Any adventurous eater should give it a try. We're thrilled to have been there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JervDelTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Loved It”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Interesting dishes, pleasant modern interior. Had the fried pig ears - their signature dish - had a very complex mix of flavors - crispy/chewy pig ears, coconut rice, chinese sausage and vietnamese perilla (lemony and citrusy). Attentive and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviary also viewed

 

Been to Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing