We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fresh”
Review of Pearl Bakery

Pearl Bakery
Ranked #7 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: excellent sandwiches, and pastries that make you see unicorns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Fresh”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go to the Pearl Bakery because it was close to Powell's Book store. Coffee was great (dark roast) and so was my cheddar, walnut, apple sandwich. My little ones had the PB & J and yogurt. We shared a ginger cookie. My 4 year old chose it because it was the biggest and I reluctantly tried some -- don't usually like ginger cookies -- but I'd eat a whole one next time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    26
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

What I ate wasn't that appeasing. The bread was good though and the tea. It's in a good area and a good sit down area. Also has an old book shop around the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent breads”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful breads, especially their walnut loaf. Croissants are buttery and flaky. Sandwiches are flavorful with good rusty breads.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank skidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries and sandwiches.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The food here is excellent. We stop here at least twice a month for pastries and sandwiches. The apple, cheese with a honey walnut spread is the best meatless sandwich I have ever had. Macaroons, chocolate croissants, tarts, every pastry we have tried is EXCELLENT. This is the real deal. If you are looking for high quality foods, you found the right spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodloversnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

On my last day in Portland, I stumbled on Pearl .... what a great find. The pastries are fabulous with coffee, and the small marble topped tables beckoned us to sit and stay awhile, read the paper, and enjoy them to the last crumb. The macaroons are to die for, as are the chocolate croissants. The real star is a pastry called a gibassier, which is a brioche-like dough with bits of candied orange peel and a faint whiff of anise. Sounds odd, but it's spectacular. Don't wait to find Pearl until the last day of your PDX trip ... go, and go often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing