We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Tasty Bit of Heaven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Bakery

Pearl Bakery
Ranked #6 of 77 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: excellent sandwiches, and pastries that make you see unicorns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Tasty Bit of Heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pearl Bakery is so delicious that I had to return for three days in a row. I just had to be sure it wasn't a fluke. I highly recommend their pumpkin bread, cinnamon crown or bear claw. Just make sure you pair it with a latte to complete the goodness. The staff was friendly and helpful and I truly don't think you can make a bad choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's with the fuss about this place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very friendly staff, nice bakery in a convenient location. But that's about it. Selection of breakfast items was very limited. I ordered the Cinnamon bun which I had read so much about on TA but was left dissapointed. Dry and bland.

Also tried the cornmeal bread and if it wasn't for the jam I poured on, it was dry as plywood.

Maybe I didn't order the right things but I was left very dissappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joidevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute Bakery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This bakery has a classy, urban atmosphere. I got a soy chai, a brownie, and a roll (for later). All were great. I stopped here on the way to Powell's books.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Grab a latte and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best latte's in Portland in my humble opinion! The bakery fair is excellent as well. There seems to always be a line no matter what time you get there so the secret is out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TopRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If we'd stayed in downtown Portland during our recent trip to Oregon, we would have started every day at the Pearl Bakery. Fortunately, we visited on the second day of our week-long stay (during a food tour on which we sampled two breads and three pastries) and we made a point of going again. If you've ever had a dry and flavorless imitation of what a croissant should be, get yourself to the Pearl to sample one that is moist-yet-flaky and butter-perfect. Or treat yourself to something you may never have heard of: a gibassier. This is a soft-as-a-cloud French pastry delicately spiced with anise and candied orange peel. It is not something you'll commonly find in the U.S. (and might not know to seek out in a patisserie in France), so here's your chance!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimP_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing