We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Bakery!”
Review of Pearl Bakery

Pearl Bakery
Ranked #6 of 70 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Description: excellent sandwiches, and pastries that make you see unicorns
Restaurant details
Description: excellent sandwiches, and pastries that make you see unicorns
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute Bakery!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This bakery has a classy, urban atmosphere. I got a soy chai, a brownie, and a roll (for later). All were great. I stopped here on the way to Powell's books.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    30
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grab a latte and enjoy!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best latte's in Portland in my humble opinion! The bakery fair is excellent as well. There seems to always be a line no matter what time you get there so the secret is out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TopRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If we'd stayed in downtown Portland during our recent trip to Oregon, we would have started every day at the Pearl Bakery. Fortunately, we visited on the second day of our week-long stay (during a food tour on which we sampled two breads and three pastries) and we made a point of going again. If you've ever had a dry and flavorless imitation of what a croissant should be, get yourself to the Pearl to sample one that is moist-yet-flaky and butter-perfect. Or treat yourself to something you may never have heard of: a gibassier. This is a soft-as-a-cloud French pastry delicately spiced with anise and candied orange peel. It is not something you'll commonly find in the U.S. (and might not know to seek out in a patisserie in France), so here's your chance!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimP_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cute place for coffee and dessert”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really cute bakery!! Had the almond cake and raspberry macaron. The almond cake had good flavor and texture. Everything else there looked good too. Cutely decorated and just a great place to relax if in the Pearl district.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yellowbear613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good quality for the most part.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The breads are the main reason I come to the Pearl. They are consistently in my top 3 bakeries, behing Grand Central & Ken Forkish's bakery on the NW side. St. Honore is another strong competitor. Try the Pugliese, a HUGE loaf that's chewy and has great crumb, while crunchy on the outside. They make a mean levain baguette too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing