We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NorthWest location great for a "date night"”
Review of Olympic Provisions

Olympic Provisions
Reserve with OpenTable
Olympic Provisions is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 2nd
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NorthWest location great for a "date night"”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a tough review to compose because a meal at Olympic Provisions is not like any other. The food is DELICIOUS. The NorthWest location is quaint and airy and bright. But because it is not the usual dining experience, it is best to be prepared and understand how it works here. First, the location is small - just about 12 tables (2 large) and the exposed "kitchen" places the cooks right in the room with you. Second, you can order entrees but much of the menu is designed more like a tapas style with ability to pick and choose a number of smaller sized selections. This includes meat and cheese "boards" that provide a diverse sampling of items to try. The sweetness and intimacy of the location and menu sharing really makes for a special date night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnCan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    36
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than charcuterie and that was awesome”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a wonderful surprise.. Was hesitant to go cuz thought it was all charcuterie. We had a great lamb shoulder entree. The lamb had a yummy caramelised crunch on the outside and was moist on the inside. Really yummy. We also had the French meat/cheese board and it also was delicious. A simple mixed green salad was fresh, perfectly dressed and a really refreshing. Pecan carrot cake complete the meal.. We shared everything so, while full, not overstuffed. Really a great meal! Went to NW restaurant which has very simple decor, small number of seats, in a bit of a funky neighborhood, and a bit warm on a hot summer night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yummy! And good happy hour deals.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here because my boyfriend is meat crazed and one night before our vacation here we saw it on an episode of Andrew Zimmern. We happen to come in during happy hour and the three of us shared the happy hour chefs choice cheese and meat tray, the fried almonds and each had a drink for $30. We noted that the meat and cheese trays were smaller at happy hour but we saved quite a bit.

I have never had fried almonds and they were good. Of course the meat was delicious, which is the reason we came. We ran out of bread and our server happily brought us more without charge.

We were one of only a few tables there and found server to be good. My boyfriend was happy with the visit and for me that was all that mattered as it was on his must do list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterdogooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customer service rates a zero.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My friend and I went in search of some stunning meat selections. (Based on an Andrew Zimmern episode of Portland, OR we decided to visit Olympic Provisions.)
We wanted to sample a few meats, but no samples were available. I thought the web site said they encouraged samples. Hmmm.
The woman at the counter was rude and didn't offer any suggestions.
We both purchased a few of the salami and went home to taste. If you like greasy meat go for it. I was stunned at how greasy the meat was.
We also purchased some brats, not too bad, but not worth the price or the travel.
I'm still stunned about how bad the service and the product was. I guess you can't trust a guy who eats bugs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had heard good things about Olympic Provisions. Last week we ate at the SE Portland location. We had made reservations (for four). We were seated at a L shaped banquette with a chair added to a third table edge which was in the flow of patrons entering the restaurant and approaching the hostess station. A duplicate arrangement was immediately adjacent to our table with perhaps 2' between the tables which the wait staff used to take orders, fill water glasses, etc. Of course while facing one table the opposite view was presented to the adjacent table. Not pleasant or conducive to one's appetitie.

One of the cocktails served was not what was ordered. We ordered short ribs and halibut. It took a considerable time for the entrees to be served which was OK as we were there to socialize. However, socializing was difficult as the tables were so close that voices at the other table interfered with easy conversation at ours. If you are planning a fairly typical turn around time from ordering to delivery of the meal you may be disappointed.

The short ribs served was ample in proportion. However, there was a very great deal of fat on the meat. I realize this is not a lean cut, but the amount of fat that had to be removed was excessive to my way of thinking. But worse than that the flavor was just not good. The short ribs were served with perhaps 3 smallish potato wedges. The menu listed the price for this meal as $24 and when the bill arrived the charge was $25, a pet peeve. The halibut seemed to be a better choice.

All in all the experience was quite disappointing. Nonetheless, the restaurant was quite full, so perhaps others have not had the same experience. However, we won't return. There are just too many other restaurants in Portland that provide a much more satisfying experience at this price point.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Provisions also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing