We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So greasy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frying Scotsman

The Frying Scotsman
Ranked #751 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Fast Food, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Here is his facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Frying-Scotsman-Portland/135370609444 This is a foodcart, so it might not qualify for your purposes, but this was the best Fish and Chips I have ever had. And I've had fish and chips is over 12 counties. I was so impressed, I had to try to get him listed here.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

The food cart scene is cool - lots of options. Fish and chips sounded good so we stopped by here. Your choice of fish and a nice selection to choose from.

But mother of god it's so oily and greasy. The oil is not getting up to temp or something. We ripped all the batter off and just ate the fish, which was somehow overcooked.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank chuzzbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty as Hell, but full of oil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

For 12 dollars you get two pieces of fish and chips. It was really good, but beware - there's a lot of oil in it.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ran Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2016

A friend and I tried both the cod fish and chips and the haddock fish and chips. Both were delicious. The cod is a bit flakier and lighter than the haddock, but both were great. We watched him batter fresh fish right there in the cart and fry it up. The chips (french fries) looked hand cut and were also very fresh and tasty with a hearty portion. The fish was a bit greasy, but only because he didn't put them on any paper towel after taking them out of the fryer, so make sure to grab plenty of napkins. The price was so reasonable ($9ish). You'd easily pay $15 for the same dish in a local restaurant. You can grab your food here, and walk up a couple blocks south and eat at Directors Park.

  • Visited June 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Northwest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips outside the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2016

I don't eat a lot of fish, but when I do, it better be good. And fried. Those are my only two requirements really. Oh and it has to be cod. No one does fried cod better than The Frying Scotsman, although his glorious accent alone would be reason enough to visit his food cart.He makes all of his fries by hand and you can really taste the difference. All the food is made to order so you will have to wait a bit, but believe me, it's worth it.

He has a variety of fish with some sold at a set price and others sold at market price. He also sells mushy peas in case you're a homesick Brit who needs to eat baby food peas.

Hands down the best food cart in Portland and the only one I'll overlook the the lack of appropriate hand washing facilities in order to eat the food.

  • Visited April 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Portland Experiential Learning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2016

I took a trip with a group from my college and the one thing I wanted to try was fish from the Frying Scotsman…They did not disappoint. The fish and chips were so good that I went back twice during our visit… this speaks volumes as there are so many other choices at the food cart pod. Absolutely loved the chips and I am not a fry kind of person.

  • Visited March 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frying Scotsman also viewed

 

Been to The Frying Scotsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing