We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Portland
Post
Inbox
Search

“the best!”

The Frying Scotsman
Ranked #75 of 272 Quick Bites in Portland
Cuisines: Scottish
Description: This is a foodcart, so it might not qualify for your purposes, but this was the best Fish and Chips I have ever had. And I've had fish and chips is over 12 counties. I was so impressed, I had to try to get him listed here.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a foodcart, so it might not qualify for your purposes, but this was the best Fish and Chips I have ever had. And I've had fish and chips is over 12 counties. I was so impressed, I had to try to get him listed here.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

my husband is from Great Britain and we have been searching for fish and chips like they make there. No one in the US does and they should. We heard about the Frying Scotsman on Food Network and knew we had to go. We were not disappointed. It was fabulous. You need to go.

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank nfazaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This little food cart was very high on our list of "Must Try's". We managed to get there right before we started our drive home and ordered the large size haddock. It was perfectly battered and seasoned so well. Very rare do you find fish & chips where the fish is seasoned enough that you don't need tons of tartar sauce! It was a little tasty piece of heaven and the malt vinegar was enough to bring out it's true flavours. The french fries were cut thick and the soft potato in the middle was sublime. Great value for the price. Definitely worth trying out if you are doing a food cart tour of Portland.

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank diva_enroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

When friends and family are visiting i always try to stop by here as one of my favorite things that makes Portland unique. It's the only place you can get Haddock as one of your fish choices. I miss that from my UK visits, so it's like a small vacation.

Date of visit: October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yogidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frying Scotsman also viewed

 

Been to The Frying Scotsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing