We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Taste Disappoints”

Uptown Billiards Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Uptown Billiards Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #631 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Cross street: West Burnside
Transit: On the 15 bus line, max stops by the MAC Club about 5 or 6 blocks away.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second Taste Disappoints”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My first dinner at Uptown Billiards Club filled me with raves and whet my appetite for more from this creative chef in an unexpected setting. Alas, a recent return visit failed to live up to expectations. A summery 5-course cherry-themed tasting menu sounded exciting but fell far short of excellence. The menu opened with a very promising savory cheesecake but went off course from there, with a steak entrée served at room temperature and cherry pie in an overworked crust. Disappointing inconsistency from a kitchen that seemed to hold exciting potential.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super quality meal in a pool room ??”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would have NEVER think possible having one of my best meals ever in a ... pool room. While in Portland, after a day spent touring wineries, our guide, Jack Cranley, suggested this fantastic place. The overall experience was wonderful. You get a 5 course meal with a theme that changes every few weeks. In our case, the star product was peach; there was peach in each of the 5 courses, superbly adapted, perfect. Very special atmosphere, perfect service (merci Lauren). On top of it, a ridiculously low price, $30 for the 5 courses; and if you wish to add the wine pairing, be ready to disburse an additional ... $14 for 5 glasses of wine. Perfect evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pops013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An Appetite for Billiards”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It seems an unlikely pairing: a traditional billiards club and innovative cuisine. But surprise appears to be a tradition at the Uptown Billiards Club where five-course tasting menus demonstrate skillful moves in a creative kitchen. At the urging of a food-wise friend, we reserved a table for the restaurant’s five-course tasting menu of the evening--$30 for a series of small plates that led us through a Mexico-themed meal, from ceviche to flan and choros. What a deal! Elegant presentation, gracious service and flavors that equal the creative, new cuisine of Mexico City. Tasting menus change themes often. I’ll be back to try another.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great Experience. Did the 5 course meal paired with drinks. Mexican theme was going on. Menu changes every 2 wks. Food and drinks were excellent. Didnt like the beer drink that's just me I dont like beer. The courses are small but filling, excellent display and delicious to the max. Flavor and presentation get a 10 out of 10. Takes about 2hrs start to finish. Great service. Good ambience. Make a reservation if you can. Recommend and will do again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank International T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a Gem!!...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked my girlfriends birthday party at Uptown Billiards, and we had a wonderful time. This is a unique place, truly lovely place. The staff greeted us from the moment we arrived, and they waited on our every need. I brought the birthday cake from a bakery, and the immediately took it to the kitchen and put it away until we were finished with dinner, which was delicious. They put candles on it and brought it out lit, and everyone in the parlor sang happy birthday to my girl...she was very happy. We were treated so amazingly, I can't wait to go back and do the formal 5 course dinner in the dining room.

This is a must..oh, and the pool table, darts, casino games are just a bonus...and the cocktails are amazing too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown Billiards Club also viewed

 

Been to Uptown Billiards Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing