We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian food”
Review of Mayura Indian Grill and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mayura Indian Grill and Bar
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped by Mayura today for lunch. Uma, one of the owners, asked if we wanted to order from the menu or try the lunch buffet for $10.95 per person. We chose the buffet for variety, and everything was delicious and wonderful. The variety was one of the best of any Indian restaurant we have enjoyed, so we tried nearly everything.

Chai and mango juice were included. Uma also brought us a basket of hot nans, so the meal was complete.

Uma was friendly and asked us mid-lunch if we liked it. Well, we both loved it. If you like Indian food, then this is definitely worth a stop. We live in Tucson so are very sorry we cannot easily return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We bought a Groupon for this restaurant and tried. What a waste money!!!!!
The food was ok but the service was so so bad. We were wondering that waiter was so mad to owner that he wants to make sure nobody comes back again or if he is owner, he really wants to go to bankrupt. Please do not buy Groupon deal for this restaurant.
Also they had wierd system that they only give you the bill after using credit card that does not include the tip part. How do you keep the record how much you pay for tips & totals?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,283 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Not a bit welcoming”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went on a Saturday night when this part of Portland buzzing. Broke the rule of thumb in entering an empty restaurant, there must be a reason! It also stayed empty throughout our stay. The place was not all welcoming, tables were not set and overall a feeling of little care about the place. Of the 4 main meals, 2 were OK, one not as expected and one pretty ordinary. Atmosphere made for a much less than average experience. Front of house needs a full makeover. Wouldn't bother here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Best Indian Lunch Buffet Ever”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a wonderful Indian culinary experience I just had! Mayura is probably the best Indian restaurant that I have ever been. Everything was so good. I loved the binyari chicken, tandoori, chicken curry, basmati rice, naan and butter chicken. Gulab jamun and mango juice were awesome. I recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice lunch buffet”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good range of choices, mango lassi, and chai. You can eat as much as you want and get in and out quickly if you need to. I went with a vegetarian, and there were many choices that worked for him. There was a good salad choice with check peas and onions. It filled up later in the afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JadeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayura Indian Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing