We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent greek food”

Dorio Cafe & Taverna
Ranked #351 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
419 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent greek food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we returned to dorio for dinner, and had a fabulous time. there were 4 of us, and we were asked to move so they could accomodate a party of 20. we gladly obliged, and they didn't charge me for a corona! we started with the house wine, corona, and the uzo with a coors light chaser. the owner, taki, and his mom, mary, are so friendly and value customer service to the nth degree. the ambiance is comforting and relaxing. next, we had the veggie gyros with the salad. both were so so delicious. one of our friends had the same but with fries. she was happy with her meal.another had the yaya burger with salad. everyone was happy. my partner wanted dessert, and asked the owner to surprise her. what emerged was a pumpkin dessert with phillo, and whipped cream. it was mouth watering and ended a truly fine dinner. the rest of the staff were great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best place to eat on 23rd”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you like Greek food and hospitality, this is the place! Exceptional food, made with quality ingredients, from home recipes. They are located in a small corner shop with large windows, which makes it perfect for people watching while you snack on some olives, hummus and pita. The atmosphere is great for a date, hanging out with friends or a family dinner. I love Greek food and culture and in Portland we are lucky to have a pretty strong Greek community, and Dorio's is one of those shining examples of what they do best!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average and Small Portions”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Visited for lunch and found the place nearly empty. Ordered a Greek bento which turned out to be one shish kebob on a pile of rice. Out of moussaka so my husband had the pastistsio, which he said was quite good.

Helpful?
Thank razzinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Original Greek hospitality”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We never miss an opportunity to dine at Dorio whenever we are in Portland. The Greek owners have transplanted a taste of their country into NW 23rd Ave. Wonderful Greek food, delightful friendly atmosphere and charming service. If you can't take the time to visit Greece, take the time to dine at Dorio - it's almost as good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“Incredible food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Best calamari and hummus in town. Atmosphere could be better but everyone at my table was saying OMG about how great the food was

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorio Cafe & Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Dorio Cafe & Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing