We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be afraid to ask!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TarBoush Lebanese Bistro & Bar

TarBoush Lebanese Bistro & Bar
Ranked #651 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid to ask!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant is served up in a beautiful historical house. We found it by accident while exploring the neighborhood. It looks fancy from the outside, but is casual. Waiters wear basic jeans. Our only disappointment was that our water was served room temperature. Now we ask in advance for ice. They will also bring you extra pitas if you ask :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“why a 5?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you compare this to all the restaurants in Portland and grade it on a bell curve, it gets a solid 4+. But it easily gets a 5 if you are looking for Lebanese or Mediterranian food, which you obviously are because you are reading this. It has better atmosphere than it's competition, and the food is equal to the best in its class. I'd love to ding it for being just a tad too expensive, but I won't. So yeah, Ava Gene's might get a higher rating, but tonight you are looking for Lebanese, so go to TarBoush.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hood river, oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still thinking about it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

As stated, this is in lovely old home that is spotless and inviting. The service was kind of slow and our waiter wore a baseball cap during the whole meal which seemed out of place in this nice setting. BUT - the - food - is - amazing!! I am still thinking about the hummus, Baba ganoush and fresh bread. There are so many vegetarian options that I couldn't decide what to have. I ended up having a veggie mezza so I got some of everything. My friend had lamb and raved also. It was delicious and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
583 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very pleasant atmosphere...restaurant is in an old house. There was a nice variety of offerings and the food was good. I thought it was a little pricey...I have had good Lebanese for a lot less, but, granted, in a more casual setting. The service was fine, but not stellar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
552 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Mini Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bubbly waitress is certainly an asset. She gave great advise and suggestions. We ordered "the feast", it was fabulous. We also experimented with fun cocktails. It was a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TarBoush Lebanese Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to TarBoush Lebanese Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing