We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun kitschy place”
Review of Space Room Lounge

Space Room Lounge
Ranked #1,949 of 4,400 Restaurants in Portland
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This cool bar is a huge destination for folks who love kitch and big fishbowl drinks. I loved celebrating my 42nd birthday in full "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" theme.

Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Owner at Space Room Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

It's been a while since you stopped in, Kimberley, but thanks so much for coming to visit and for celebrating your birthday with us! Hope to see you again this year.

Cheers,
Spaceroom Lounge and Genie's Too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

I only rated this place very good because for the normal tourist its probably not the place you want to go; but if you are into awesome dive bars then check it out! Lights on the ceiling, black lighted space murals, goblet sized amazing mixed drinks (get the clean underwear a cucumber infused drink) and crappy draft and can beer like PBR and old german (and a few local craft brews) makes this a dive bar worth a visit.

Thank robbiefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Owner at Space Room Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

We felt a lot of heart coming from this review -- it's wonderful to know how much you love the atmosphere of our place. We can't wait to see you back for more drinks, whether they're cocktails or PBRs!

Yours,
Spaceroom Lounge and Genie's Too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Someone obviously spent some time and money getting this place put together years ago. Not much seems to have been added, changed, or even dusted, but the bartender was really friendly; the food was really good; the clientele was on par with what I'd prefer to hang with - not as shi-shi as the Douglas Fir Lounge. It was a fun place to spend a few hours and definitely not like other bars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gumgumgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Owner at Space Room Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

It's been a long time since you wrote this, but thank you all the same! We're glad you love our atmosphere and hope to see you again this year for another drink and some tasty treats.

Cheers,
Spaceroom Lounge and Genie's Too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This is sort of a marriage between bar and restaurant. Looks like it might have expanded into a bigger place at some point. Regardless, the food here is really quite exceptional. I expected just bar fare, but I was very surprised to find a heap of offerings. There were also many special drink creations from the bar area. This particular area in Portland has many restaurants and much of them organic, local specialties. This place fits in not because it has these, but what it does have is a wild atmosphere. You have to see it to believe it! It is like outer space! Kind of shabby-chic! Blacklights, Xmas lights, etc. which at first makes you think twice about where you are, but it certainly provides an atmosphere far from the outside area.
As stated, the food was a nice surprise. Generous portions and very tasty! Not an extensive menu, but something for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Owner at Space Room Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2015

Hey there! We know it's been a few years since you wrote this, but we just wanted to drop by and let you know how much we appreciate it to this day. Here's hoping we'll see you again this year -- we'd love to hear what you think about what we've been up to here.

Hope all is well,
Spaceroom Lounge and Genie's Too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Space Room Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing