We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Columbia River Gorge and Portland, Oregon city tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Escapes Portland

Evergreen Escapes Portland
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 77 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We invite you to make your escape! We are renowned for our education-based small group tours and custom-crafted private journeys that blend the best of our region's stunning natural wonders, urban enchantments and culinary bounty into transformative travel experiences. Let our passionate, knowledgeable, and caring Escape Artist Guides show you around our incredibly diverse bio-region known as "Cascadia!"
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Columbia River Gorge and Portland, Oregon city tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friends and I booked Evergreen for a tour of the Columbia River Gorge one day and the next day a Portland city tour. The tour with Kapper to the Gorge was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable, fun to travel with and adjusted our tour to meet our needs. We learned about the history of the area, ecology, geology and much more.He was patient and didn't complain even when we wanted to shop or take pictures and ended up extending our tour by 4 hours! Great snacks were provided and we had a delicious lunch. He is one of the best tour guides we have had and would take another tour with him any time!
Our city tour of Portland with Jeff, the Portland office manager was also excellent. He is proud of his city and it showed! He is very knowledgeable and made the tour interesting with stories and tidbits of history around the city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    14
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highest ratings for Evergreen, Kieron, and Kapper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently booked Evergreen for four full-day excursions, two from Seattle and two from Portland. As others have mentioned the catered picnic lunch was fantastic, the tea and snacks kept us going during the long day, and the van was quite comfortable. We enjoyed the other guests with whom we traveled and felt that we were treated to four very special days. Our Portland guides Kieron and Kapper were quite knowledgeable and somewhat tailored our day to our group's interests and energy level. We were thrilled that we were able to do as much walking around/hiking as we did, given that the destinations required a lot of driving, and felt that we learned a tremendous amount about the history, geology, and ecology of the area. We hope to return to the Pacific Northwest again and with Evergreen, see some of the areas we missed this trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina19113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mount St Helens and Ape caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are visitors from the UK. This is a good company to deal with - excellent communication regarding arrangements prior to trip - all of which were fulfilled completely. We were in a small group and had an excellent guide in Kapper who briefed us comprehensively on everything related to Oregan, Portland, Washington and, of course the itinerary in hand. The packed food, snacks and drink were of very high quality, locally sourced and well presented. The tour was a long day but very well paced with a good balance between travel and stop off points. You will return extremely well informed about St Helens. Kapper was very patient and had that rare ability to sense what was needed and when. Unreservedly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I do not know much about wine, nor wineries in the area. The driver picked us up at a downtown hotel and drove us to wine country. I could have used a bit more education about wine and the area during our drive out, but I wasn't bored at all. We stopped at Rex Hill, which was very pretty, tasted wine, and had a very nice lunch. I'll be honest that when I saw lunch, I was slightly disappointed, but it was delicious. We had salad with grilled chicken, a nice dressing, and a quinoa salad. A cookie would have been good or bread, but everything was filling and good.

We stopped off at Durant Vineyards, Kramer, and Fox Farms. The last two were tasting rooms and not vineyards, but I found that the wine in the tasting rooms were better than the ones we tried in the vineyards. The people pouring were knowledgeable about the wines and were able to talk you through the flavors and notes, which helps me enjoy the wine in a different way.

Our driver was knowledgeable about the area wineries and wine making in general, and I would have loved to have heard more from her. She never rushed us, though, and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our experience.

I would recommend bringing a few snacks and some bottled water. This was a great tour, though and I would definitely recommend it. I liked that all the tasting fees were included, and I did enjoy the healthy lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laurence Cotton - Excellent Tour Guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went with Laurence to several tours. He is an excelent tour guide that brings a great deal of knowledge to the tours he provides. I would recommend him to anyone visiting Portland.

Grant. S.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantPatrickSroka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Escapes Portland also viewed

 

Been to Evergreen Escapes Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing