We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great intro to Portland”

Forktown Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Downtown Portland Tour
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Mississippi Avenue Food Tour
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Portland's Division Street Food Tour
Ranked #3 of 85 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Enjoyed the Mississippi Tour with Kelsey, Heidi and Laura, Kelsey was great- informative, funny and enthusiastic. Having owner Heidi along to interject bits and pieces of info and train Laura was also fun. GREAT stops along the way, Mee Sen Thai for a delish noodle salad and a thai sausage; Sidecar 11 for a gin gin mule and roasted garlic bruschetta; Little big Burger... so many different food experiences and history of the area. Enjoyed the tour and the friends we made. Highly recommend.

Thank lorraineHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks so much for reviewing your N Mississippi Ave tour with us this past week. We are glad we could show you a good time and share some great food with you in one of our favorite neighborhoods in town. We appreciate the recommendation and sure hope we can host you again on another tour. See you soon!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Forktown Food Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Highly recommended for adventurous foodies. After initial introductions and the first taste testing you will realise your in for a treat and trust me it only gets better after the first sampling. Kelsey was our guide, highly knowledgeable in the culinary history of some of Portland's eateries and various new trends in dining. In addition chefs along the various stops give added insight as to the dishes prior to tasting. Vegetarian, vegan or even food allergies? Don't worry, as you will effortlessly be accommodated (with advanced notice of course). The walking between stops offers the opportunity to take in the sights and sounds of beautiful Portland as you can only wonder what great food experience will you sample next. The alphabet tour offers a balanced range of restaurants, a bakery, deli, a food truck and even a brewery. With great food and drinks to choose from the only thing you can do to prepare is come with a healthy appetite and an open mind. Truly a wonderful experience.

Thank Nate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking time to write such a kind and thorough review! We really appreciate it and love nothing more than making such an impression on our guests. As a matter of fact, you were so impressed with your Alphabet District tour on Friday you bought tickets for our Sunday N Mississippi Avenue tour. That is the best compliment we can think of!! It was so great to take you both around again on our tours and show you 2 very distinct and delicious different neighborhoods in Portland. We hope that if you ever make the jaunt back up to Portland that you come visit us again. We would love nothing more to show you around on our Downtown & The Pearl District tour too...or who knows? Maybe there will be even more to choose from next year! At any rate thank you again for your business and your support!

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This tour really had something for everyone. Our group had 6 adults in our late 20's- early 30's and a 7 month old baby. We had such a great time on the Mississippi Ave tour! It was the perfect amount of time and the perfect variety of food (not all the same style or predictable). We all had a different "highlight" moment. The tour guide was fun, knowledgeable, polite, and a multigenerational Portlandian! I would very very highly recommend this tour! Do it!

Thank JMF818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We appreciate so much that you took a moment to share your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community on your tour with Forktown. We love hosting groups, they are always so much fun :) We are thrilled you all had such a good time, enjoyed the varied food offerings and that you each took away a personal favorite moment from your time with us. We couldn't be happier than when our guests are! Come see us again soon the next time your travels bring you to our lovely city!

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Kelsey was a great guide. She balanced fun info (her roots in Oregon, food and neighborhood history) with serious stuff (Vanport flood, urban growth boundary). Great food and drink stops on Mississippi. Vegetarian options available at every stop. We live in Portland and would happily take another Forktown Food Tour to learn more about our city.

Thank BLKinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks so much for reviewing your N Mississippi Avenue tour with us! We are so glad you enjoyed Kelsey's commentary and great point of view and that we could show you around one of our most favorite neighborhoods in town. We are always pleased to accommodate dietary restrictions/allergies and appreciate that you mention your vegetarian request was honored during your time with us. We look forward to hosting you on another tour in the very near future.

Best,
Jessica & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It took some foodie friends visiting from out town to help me discover Forktown Food Tours. They had done one in Seattle and loved it so knowing they were coming to Portland, they booked the Mississippi Ave Tour. I bought tickets for my husband and myself to join them and we are so glad we did! Our tour guide, Kelsey, was a treat in and of herself, sharing more background information about the area, the restaurants, the food, the drinks and the history than I had ever expected to know. What fun! We made 7 great food stops, were served full sized portions of food from Thai, to burgers, to cocktails, tacos, small plates, chocolate and ice cream sandwiches. It was a 3 hour tour, we were full in the end and a bit tired but we can't wait to try one of their other area tours. Maybe, the Pearl tour is next.

Thank mjw722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. There is nothing we love more than taking a local on tour for the first time and sharing our stories about each neighborhood and introducing them to lots of great food and drink at places they might never have visited before! There is something so fun about being a traveler in your own city, and Portland is the right place to do it. There are so many great neighborhoods and hidden gems, it takes years to discover them all! We couldn't be more pleased that the tour went above and beyond your expectations and we look forward to sharing our delicious take on our Downtown & The Pearl District with you soon.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forktown Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing