We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected "Good" Got "Exceptional”

Forktown Food Tours
Ranked #6 of 95 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We did the North Mississippi tour this afternoon..This tour introduced us to some exceptional food and beverage venues while being led on an easy walk this sunny Spring afternoon by a knowledgeable and energized tour guide. We are anxious to go back and enjoy the places introduced and also look forward to taking the other food tours Forktown offers. I highly recommended Forktown tours for locals and out of town visitors. Gift certificates are available and would be appreciated by any lucky recipient.

Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your tour with us this past weekend on N Mississippi Avenue, and quite quickly we might add! We are glad we exceeded your expectations...that is always our goal with our guests, with both visitors and locals. We do hope you can come visit us again soon and explore another great area of the Rose City. Thanks so much and see you soon!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mississippi tour"
in 28 reviews
"food scene"
in 28 reviews
"mississippi ave"
in 22 reviews
"come hungry"
in 20 reviews
"division street"
in 10 reviews
"verde cocina"
in 6 reviews
"mississippi area"
in 6 reviews
"market tour"
in 5 reviews
"bring your appetite"
in 5 reviews
"local scene"
in 5 reviews
"culinary delights"
in 6 reviews
"walking food tour"
in 5 reviews
"the pearl"
in 31 reviews
"great tour"
in 29 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"ice cream sandwich"
in 8 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 9 reviews
Filter

372 - 376 of 481 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Jessica did a wonderful job of making everyone feel comfortable. She was knowledgeable, personable, and service oriented. We did the Downtown/Pearl District tour with seven stops. The food had variety, fun, and great tastes. It included a "white tablecloth" restaurant, a food cart, bagels, pizza, sandwiches, a farm to fork grocery store, and great desserts. It was well done and a good value. Recommended.

Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review a brand new addition to our tour roster: Downtown & The Pearl District tour! We love this tour and are so glad that you did too. It's always a compliment to hear that our guests think our tour was a great value and that the tastes and stops hit the spot . Come back and see us again...we cover some really terrific neighborhoods and would love to host you again.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband booked this tour as a birthday gift and it was such a blast. Heidi went above and beyond to make my day perfect. You know you are in good hands when your guide admits that she often thinks about where she's going for dinner while she's still eating lunch. Come here on an empty stomach because the tour covers many places and the food is so incredible you will want to finish it all. In addition to our tour, Heidi gave us a few more suggestions of places to go when we told her which part of town we were staying. Thanks to Forktown, we discovered a part of Portland we would have never found on our own and learned much of it's history as well. If you are only here for a day, I say make this tour your priority. Thank you, Heidi!

1  Thank SamishBeachHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your time with us. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and it was certainly our pleasure to make your birthday gift very special. We love birthdays at Forktown! We hope you get a chance to visit again soon, we would love to host you on another one of our neighborhood tours. Maybe it could be a new yearly birthday tradition? Ask for Heidi & I will do my best to lead your next tour :)

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I did the Mississippi Ave Forktown Food Tour on Saturday afternoon. Great guide (thanks, Kelsey!), very entertaining, informative and, best of all, tasty. Thai food & beer, burgers, Korean-Mex fusion from a food cart, snacks at a wine bar, salt and chocolate samplings and then, to completely stuff us, two ice cream sandwiches from a homemade ice cream shop. Everything was great, and since we're still very new here, we discovered a very fun part of town. If you've got 3 hours to spare while in Portland, check it out. Highly recommended!

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Wow, thanks so much for the really lovely review and recommendation for others to tour with us. It means a lot to us that not only did you love the food, but also that you enjoyed your time in the care of one of our fantastic tour guides (we love Kelsey too!). I do believe you have another pair tour gift tickets (lucky you!), so we look forward to hosting you & your wife again on another one of our delicious food tours. And welcome to Portland!

Best,
Heidi & Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We absolutely loved our recent Mississippi Ave Fork Town Tour. Great guide, fun restaurants, delicious foods in wonderful spots we might never have found on our own. Highly recommend this to anyone!

Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that we could introduce you to some of our favorite hidden spots on Mississippi Avenue. We certainly hope we can take you on tour again should you find yourself back in the Portland to experience our range of different (and yummy) tours! Thanks, and see you soon!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forktown Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing