We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun foodie afternoon!”

Forktown Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Downtown Portland Tour
Ranked #3 of 82 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
337 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun foodie afternoon!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I took the Mississippi tour while in Portland on a college visit. We take food tours in every city and this was one of the best in the US. It was a terrific value for the price. This quirky Portland neighborhood is home to many fun eating establishments. We loved the Little Big Burgers as well as the salt and chocolate at The Meadow. Actually we loved it all! Will definitely do another Forktown Tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are delighted we ranked so highly on your list of culinary tours all over the U.S. N Mississippi Ave is a really fun and quirky neighborhood and we love being able to show it off. Next time you come in for a visit, check out our NW 23rd/Alphabet District tour or our very brand new Downtown & The Pearl District! Thanks for visiting and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Jessica & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    29
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Alphabet District Forktown Tour”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great to get out of downtown Portland and into the Alphabet District for a Forktown Tour. Heidi was an informative guide giving plenty of background information in a fun and informal format. There was a nice variety of food and drink to sample which give a good overview of the Portland food scene. Many of the proprietors also took time to talk to us about their products. A good way to add to the Portland experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your afternoon with us. It was a delight to take you around the lovely Alphabet District and so glad the day was so pleasant weather wise. It's nice to show off the best side of Portland and one of our favorite neighborhoods all at the same time. Glad you enjoyed your experience, and the next time you come to visit from down under, we hope to see you on one of our other yummy tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great way to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were coming back to Portland to see friends as my husband used to live there. He was a little aprehensive about the "area" of the tour but was pleasantly amazed by what Mississippi had developed into - an exciting area of food experiences! We both had a delightful time, meeting people from all over, and learning about the area and all the local produce that made it's way into tasty dishes and interesting adventures. From wine, and lemongrass cocktails (along with the history of cocktails) to fabulous tacos, burgers and thai salads, to salt-tasting and chocolates, to ice cream. It simply could not have been a more enjoyable afternoon! Thank you to our guide and various hosts in the places we visited. We highly recommend this tour to everyone and plan to do the other when we return to Portland!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for your experience with us. We love it when we can take a local, or someone who used to live in Portland and show them the recently revitalized neighborhood of N Mississippi Avenue! It's so much fun to share what a great place this is, especially in terms of the awesome food. We are looking forward to showing you and your husband another great Portland neighborhood, so come and see us again soon!

Best,
Jessica & Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
“Great food Great Fun!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was recently in Portland celebrating a friends birthday and we went on one of forktowns tours. It was fun, delicious and very personable. I really enjoyed walking in the district and checking out the neighborhood as an added bonus. Our food guide Benji was lovely and had great facts about all things Portland and it was great to meet some of the chefs and staff at the restaurants as well. I would definitely recommend this its great fun even in the pouring rain!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you had fun, even during one of our "liquid sunshine" weather moments! Benji is a great guide, we are happy to have him and happy that he was able to offer you a personable and delicious experience. We hope to see you again on another Forktown Food Tour!

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Sketchy...at all!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I told my local friend I was taking my husband and teenage daughter on a tour of the Mississippi area while visiting Portland and she said, "I would never go there, it is very sketchy!" Well, happy to say not only is this a very nicely redeveloped area it also has some amazing food options! I have been on ten food tours (mostly in CA) and this is in my top 3! Heidi and Kelsey did a great job giving us the history of this neighborhood and providing a perfect array of tasty bites. We enjoyed it so much, we ventured back the next day on our own to eat some more! We also tried the eatery they recommended to us in Eugene and had a great experience taking my niece to eat there. The price of the tour is well worth it given the amount of food you get.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica and Hei... F, Owner at Forktown Food Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your N Mississippi Ave tour with us! We are delighted that you we could introduce you to one of the most happening neighborhoods in Portland...not a place anyone wanted to go 10 years ago and now it's a hip spot where everyone is hanging out, shopping, eating and strolling the streets with their families. Thanks for coming along with us and for the great rating in your top 3 food tours. We are honored, and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best,
Heidi & Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forktown Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing