We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Towners + Local Say This Was GREAT!”

Forktown Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Downtown Portland Tour
Ranked #3 of 81 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of Towners + Local Say This Was GREAT!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I came to visit a friend who recently moved to Portland. We bought tickets so that not only could we get a "flavor" for the food scene but also so our friend would know about great restaurants. Jessica was friendly, knowledgable and passionate about making sure we all had an outstanding experience. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. We are STILL obsessing about the carmel salt macaroon!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank kittywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    29
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous taste of Portland's unique food culture”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Jessica is an awesome tour leader who's passion for food and Portland really shines through. The Saturday tour winds around a neighborhood we never would have found ourselves, and everything was perfectly planned out at each stop, with drinks and tastes waiting for us at every stop. With everything from dessert to cocktails to beer, coffee, ice cream and street cart food, I can't even imagine what else we could have tried - even if we weren't already completely stuffed. The variety is awesome, and the owners explaining their passion for their business adds the perfect amount of insight at each stop. Tell your family and friends who are visiting not to miss this!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank UnTourFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This was the highlight of our trip to Portland. If you love food and learning about a city that you have never visited before, this tour is for you. I definitely visited places I wouldn't have visited on my own.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kmf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Food and walking like you're with your personal friends”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Thanks to Heidi and Jessica, our lovely tour guides, for providing facts and fun about the food cart world of Portland on the two food cart tours I went on, and for all the owners who took the time to step out of their cart to talk about their cartpreneurship challenges and victories. I think my stomach might need a rest from another day of multi-hour sampling, but I would recommend any of their food tours to any visitors of Portland or those who live in Portland and want to explore lots of little bites and learn about food culture- be it the food cart culture like these tours, or neighborhoods. Forktown Tours covers the Alphabet District (Northwest 23rd area I think, which is more trendy) and North Portland (Alberta/Miss neighbohoodish which is more artsy) areas on walking tours on Thurs and Sat. Heidi and Jessica were very gracious, knowledgeable, and thoughtful- making sure everyone gets a sample, that we were hydrated and always gathered around to hear the food owner, making sure we had napkins and forks and wet naps and carrying Tums just in case. It is obvious they love food, love Portland, love spreading that love as if you were their own friend visiting them from out of town. Check them out!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieGirl_VeganBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Food in Portland - Fork Town Tours is 10 out of 10!”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

On Saturday, January 15, 2010 I had the delightful opportunity to experience Portland in a wonderful food excursion. The weather was dark and raining heavily. The owner of the company Jessica was pure sunshine; she has a passion for great food and Portland. The food was incredible: beginning with Oregon Pinot Noir Wine and local cheeses at Pasta Works, to meatball sandwiches from Garden State (food cart) to Lompoc Beer (delicious), to incredible Mexican taco’s that made your mouth water. We tasted macaroons from Pix Patisserie; the taste sensation was beyond heavenly. Just as the chill of the weather was beginning to set in Jessica ushered us into a delightful coffee spot, Mr. Green Beans. What an amazing experience, the owner demonstrated the art of good coffee making, the aromas and flavours of the coffee were heavenly. I would rate this tour a 10 out of 10 it was an incredible experience and I was pleased to meet Jessica and have the opportunity to taste Portland’s amazing food. Brenda Wainwright (Vancouver, BC)

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BWVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forktown Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing