We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in for a Red” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Old Lompoc

New Old Lompoc
Ranked #541 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
290 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stop in for a Red”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was the second stop on our Portland Brewcycle tour. After a long trek, I settled in on the Proletariat Red. Not too shabby. A nice 6.2%'er. Sat outside and enjoyed the day. Small number of homemade beers, but you can find one you like. Food is available, but who has time for that?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wikwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beer at it's finest. Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had been to the old Lompoc Tavern and was shocked that the entire block that it was in was recently rebuilt. It is located in one of the famous neighborhoods of Portland just North of the downtown area. The new place though is tastefully done, Modern yet warm and cozy. Good food and world class craft beer that make it a must stop for micro-brew fans

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 651Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine beer - neighborhood atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Came to the 'new' 'old' Lompoc on the advise of a local. Easy ride on light rail from downtown with a small walk through a interesting neighborhood afterward.

We visited quite a few brewpubs, breweries and tap houses while in Portland - on both sides of the river - and Lompoc was a winner. A much more cozy atmosphere then some of the big brewers tap houses.

A for-sure-go-there when you're doing the brew-thing in PDX !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westslopejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good update to the New Old Lompoc”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The previous incarnation of the tavern in this space was as comfortable as an old slipper - frayed and worn-in. The new place is a bit shiny and new looking, but the menu has the same pub classics and fine Lompoc ales. I had one of the seasonal IPAs and my wife had a Kick Axe which was quite floral and tasty. This is definitely a good place to sit and watch the Portland Timbers play a match, and it doesn't seem like as much of a dive any more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidcstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Deja-'Poc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved the New Old Lompoc, and I was sorry to see it go in 2012. But, admittedly, the old place, as much as I enjoyed it, had its flaws. OK, basically, it was an old run down building with perhaps the worst men's room in the city. It was so bad that I used to tell friends just to go in and take a look so they could shudder in disbelief. But, the great beers, the awesome food and the general vibe created by Jerry and his troops made me forget these flaws every time I stopped in.
The new "Lompoc Tavern" is in the same spot as before....but now part of a new, modern multi-use complex. It's smaller, and the incredible back deck is gone, but somehow, the character is much the same....just shiny and new. The beer, of course, is excellent as usual, and the food is even better than before, with many of the old menu items updated for the new spot. I was afraid the food might not be as good as it used to be....I don't know if Mike is still in the kitchen...but it is even better than before. Good job, Mr Fechter....you managed to not screw up the rebirth of my favorite pub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hongisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Old Lompoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing