We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“innovative, creative and a great setting”
Review of Nel Centro

Nel Centro
Ranked #67 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Cuisine of the French & Italian Riviera. Fine dining in Theater District of Downtown Portland with spacious year round patio. Adjacent to the Hotel Modera. Close to Portland State University.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“innovative, creative and a great setting”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

happy hour at nel centro- food was good, lots of choices, and the inside view out to the outside terraces and the wall garden make it a great place on a cold spring day with the hope of summer coming soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrc4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    175
    52
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & service”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wonderful happy hour - seems to be very popular with the locals, which is always a good sign. I had breakfast, happy hour and dinner during my stay at the Hotel Modera, and each was a terrific dining experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gscottp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good happy hour!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Cheap food and great drinks! I got their french fries and their specialty drink of the day- gin with a pear puree and some other liquor in it. Will enjoy again next time I visit Portland.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scene stealer”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I like Nel Centro. Even have my "own" table there: #41: two top in the corner by the front window. David has done a good job of building up the restaurant. It has turned into "the" place to be at lunch, which had a lack of eating spaces in the financial hub of City Hall, Wells Fargo tower, the Oregonian, et al. Celebrated my birthday at dinner last night with family. Eight top. Food was good, as usual; the wild boar sauce was terrific; beet salad outstanding; wild trout special was good. My only complaint is that David use to mix up the menu once or twice a month. Now, what I see at the beginning of the month stays pretty much the same all month long except for the specials. Perhaps this is a function of containing cost overheat, but I would appreciate a little more variety on the menu as the month goes on. But, over all, the food never disappoints. Thumbs up! The outdoor area is now open, the fire pits are on full blast, the tables are full; hard to find a place to sit, although I scored a single chair next to a fire pit and had a glass of bubbly within minutes! Nice wait staff. Probably should be more of them when the outdoor seating becomes so large! General manager confirmed that I could have an outdoor party there, stay tuned!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Check out the fire pits on the patio”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had great Happy Hour two times in past week recently b/c it was so good the first time. Good Happy Hour menu. Try to get a seat on the patio where great fire pits will be lit. It was warm there outside even on a colder evening. Was told the patio is new in the past year. Looks like a popular place from number of people we saw. Very good service even when busy. Highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glamerousgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nel Centro also viewed

 
 

Been to Nel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing