We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor delight in the center of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nel Centro

Nel Centro
Ranked #66 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Cuisine of the French & Italian Riviera. Fine dining in Theater District of Downtown Portland with spacious year round patio. Adjacent to the Hotel Modera. Close to Portland State University.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outdoor delight in the center of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We chose Nel Cento for an al fresco experience on an August night in Downtown Portland. We were concerned it might get too cool as the evening wore on but gas fire pits came on just in time and it stayed comfortable.

The service was prompt and attentive. The food was even better. We shared two salads: the heirloom caprese and a butter lettuce salad with fried grapes. Awesome.

We each had a different pasta plate. Especially good was the tagliatelle with veal ragu. The best I've ever had.

Good house red for $28 per 750ml.

The only knock was at the patio opens to a busy transit street. Pretty urban. But in all, a great evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    165
    50
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colbert
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Oatmeal with dried cherries and hazelnuts, what's not to like? It was a quick breakfast with good service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank biccabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POOR Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We called ahead to try to get a reservation for a group of 20 for a celebration. Although they don't take reservations we were assured over the phone that they would be able to handle our group. When we got arrived there were only chairs for 3 people. The wait staff did nothing to try to help us out, so there was just a lot of people standing around wishing they had chairs to sit in. I went up to the hostess if that's what you want to call her and explained our situation. She just told us that we never should have been told that they could accommodate us. I asked if there were extra chairs and was told that if there were no chairs available that meant that the place was at full capacity.

There was a whole section of empty tables,but you could not sit there if you were ordering from the Happy Hour menu. Seriously? They were ALL empty.

I was totally irritated that they did not even try to accommodate us. I will never go back there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 913 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Bar and Patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Portland is a foodie mecca and the idea of eating in your hotel would often be deemed as sacrilege. No so with this stylish spot at the Modera. We had dinner and breakfast and both were superb. Great service. The risotto was amazing and the New York steak also outstanding. Very reasonable pricing, great, spacious bar and patio (which rare for Portland, with all of its rain). I would go to this place even if I was not staying at the hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy hour 4 to 6 week days.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a neighborhood restaurant for us, with indoor restaurant and in and outdoor bar/happy hour seating. They serve good food and drink as well as personable service. During chilly weather there are outdoor firepits to cheer you and keep you comfy. Prices for happy hour are reasonable. Meals are more spendy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nel Centro also viewed

 

Been to Nel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing