We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This One!!!!!”
Review of Cabezon Restaurant

Cabezon Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cabezon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NE Sandy Blvd.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!!!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have traveled the world in search of great restaurants and this rates among the best. The food was delicious and inventive. The service was friendly and not stuffy as a lot of top notch restaurants can be. The chef prepares the meals in an open kitchen and looks around the dining area at the smiles of satisfaction. Top quality wines without a hefty markup are another big selling point. If I didn't live in Connecticut, this would become a regular haunt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We dinned there with the help from Tripadvisor. The experience was average. The wine list is long but the food menu short. We ordered the Cioppino and was disappointed with the taste and portion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callesmanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific little restaurant”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ate here more than a year ago; gut still remember the experience. I'm not a huge seafood fan but had one terrific & taste meal. We went as two couple out for relaxing dinner & stayed 2 hrs of yummy, warm, relaxing fun. The service was spot on & several visits from the hostess (Jackie I think) & the Chef David really added a nice personal touch to our dinner.

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening & hope we can return again soon.

PS. I only rated the food as VG because I'm very rarely find seafood to be "excellent".

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cabezon Restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Cioppino with white gulf shrimp, local fsh, Dungeness crab, clams, mussels and calamari was very spicy, not a traditional Cioppino. The Manila Clams with Borlotti beans, Spanish chorizo, fries and rouille was outstanding- a great blend of flavors. NIce wine list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoodandWineTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super Seafood!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cabezon was such a treat! From cocktails to starters to main courses to desserts, you just can't go wrong. The service is stellar, the atmosphere is modern and warm. I wish I were nibbling on the Chive Blinis with Trout Caviar and Creme Fraiche as I write this. They were so fantastic! Warm little thin chive pancakes topped with creme fraiche and caviar, each little egg bursting in your mouth with utmost deliciousness. The Cioppino was chock full of seafood and the broth had just a hint of spiciness that made the dish just dance around your taste buds. Their salted caramel ice cream was very nice as well and was a great ending to a great meal It's a small place, but the food is big in flavor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giskwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabezon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cabezon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing