We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an important place - families of OHSU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Marquam Hill

Inn at Marquam Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Marquam Hill
Save
You added Inn at Marquam Hill to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 38 Portland B&B and Inns
PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Such an important place - families of OHSU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The owners of this inn provide something much needed for the families of patients at OHSU. They give you a clean, cozy, home-like atmosphere with comfortable beds...and they cook for you and ask you about why you are there. They deal with many family members facing crises with their loved ones' health - guests who feel sad, worried, nervous, afraid...and they care for them and comfort them. The soundproofing isn't the best, but it is built as a house - not a hotel...and most people who stay there are so exhausted from their time at the hospital that they sleep very well anyway on their beds filled with big pillows and fluffy comforters. This is more than an inn, it fills a need for comfort and support over breakfast in times of sadness and fear...yet it is still peaceful and private the rest of the day. My only wish was that the room was priced lower so I could have stayed longer...There should be places like this all over the country within walking distance of hospitals for the families of the patients there. Thank you for having this inn and providing the comfort that you do to those in need. I will remember it always.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
5
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Inn for 2 months after I underwent stem cell transplant at OHSU. Mike and Nancy were beyond wonderful hosts and we were "at home" away from home. They catered to us at every turn (when they could) and treated us like royalty. The breakfasts are fabulous - almost anything you can think of and requests accepted - and it was so nice to have a kitchen and dining area for lunch and dinner. The location was perfect and the view (depending on the room) is lovely. Rave, rave, rave. I would highly recommend to anyone needing a one night stay or extended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had made the reservation for my wife and daughter with Mike (owner's son) for a single room with two beds and private bath. Mike said he could do it if we booked two nights but not a single, so I booked both. When they arrived the owner said they couldn't honor this room ("Mike made a mistake") and didn't realize it was for two people (that is why I wanted two beds!) and moved them to a single room with one small bed and a shared bath. They had my contact information so if they couldn't honor the original reservation why didn't they call? The area and B&B are nice, bed is comfortable, the owners are pleasant, and it is close to OHSU on the positive. On the negative the walls are extremely thin (they could literally hear the people in the next room rolling over as the beds squeek), the gentleman above them kept my wife up most of the evening walking around on hardwood which resinated to their room, and had to share the bath (not a big deal if they weren't private people). If you are a walker, prepare to walk in the streets as sidewalks are hard to come by, they do say it is a pretty safe area to walk. FYI - they don't take credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmd04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

With two days of medical tests and meetings, we wanted a place to stay that was close by and reasonably priced. The Inn met both of those requirements. Mike is the greatest host and his assistant Nancy just wonderful. We found our room to be spotless and very comfortable. The only drawback was sharing a bath as we were not familiar with the locations of the other bathrooms. A floorplan in the room would be a nice added touch for location of other baths. We would highly recommend this Inn to everyone. Yes, you do hear activity in the kitchen, but this house is like home. Those of you who travel know how stuffy hotels can be with air quaility just not always acceptable. The Inn is full of fresh air. If you want comfy coupled with a great location and friendly host, then this is your best choice. We will stay again.

Room Tip: A floorplan would be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misseastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When my travel companion was suddenly flight-for-lifed to Portland during a vacation, I found myself at OHSU hospital searching for someplace to stay while I waited. The Inn at Marquam Hill (literally just up the street from the hospital) was more than a reasonably priced bed and breakfast. Owner Mike Watson, has created a safe haven for people waiting on medical procedures, dealing with life changing health issues for themselves or family members, and for those who just need a quiet, homey place to get away. The trails through the forest directly behind the Inn were a sacred refuge as well. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Portland. Mike knows the area well and had maps and brochures for almost any activity or site you could think of. Thanks again, Mike! You were a safe harbour during a turbulent storm!

Room Tip: We peeked into some of the nicer rooms and this would be a lovely place for a honeymoon, anniversary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyCOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location can't be beat if you need a place to stay near OHSU. The house is lovely, clean and well kept with a very homey atmosphere. We booked a large room with king size bed plus a cot which met our needs well and had arranged to have the room for 4 nights. When we arrived and for the next 3 days, there was no one to greet us or show us where to find things like towels. there was a welcome letter on the table waiting for us, which showed our reservation for 4 nights as requested. After the 3rd night, we were told we had to relocate to another, much smaller room as the room we had was now going to someone else. So even though our welcome letter showed us as being there for four nights, the woman who runs the Inn claimed we only asked for 3. The smaller room was slightly less expensive. Since we'd paid for all 4nights in the larger room, they eventually issued us a small refund several weeks later. Breakfast was served for about 1 hour each morning with a time we couldn't make work for us. When we checked out and asked for a reduction since we had not been able to enjoy the breakfast, we were told we could have made ourselves breakfast. Since no one ever communicated any of this to us and the Inns literature indicated guests could use the kitchen to make tea or cocoa. No mention of being able to actually prepare a meal. So the pluses were that beds were comfy, the place was lovely, clean and quiet, the bathroom down the hall was nice but having to move mid stay was really disconcerting, waiting weeks for a refund and not getting the breakfast part of this bed and breakfast made us feel disappointed and a bit ripped off.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more accessible. Two of them share a bathroom and one has its own ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is not my usual way to travel (bed and breakfast, shared bathroom) but it was surprisingly pleasant and comfortable. Yes, it is a converted home and doesn't offer the most privacy or silence, but it is very clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was delicious and so was the company of the hosts and other travelers. The best location if you are visiting OHSU!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsPointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#29 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#45 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Marquam Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Marquam Hill

Property: Inn at Marquam Hill
Address: 3412 SW 13th Avenue, Portland, OR 97239
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing