We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Food, Great Ambiance”
Review of East India Co.

East India Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
East India Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: On 11th between Yamhill & Taylor
Transit: The Portland street car stops right outside our restaurant at 11th & Taylor.
Description: East India Co Grill & Bar offers a delectable journey and redefines the perception of Indian food. The romantic interior combines seductive Indian richness and sparkle, with dramatic lighting, and 1800's sepia photographs. Subtle complex marinades using time honored Indian grilling methods created by seasoned master chefs reflect the food trends in today's India. The menu remains true to classic Indian recipes but is served with verve and style. All of this along with our hospitality and innovative signature cocktails makes for a unique dining experience. The restaurant is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Portland on 11th avenue between Yamhill and Taylor. We are open for lunch, happy hour, and dinner everyday. We invite you to join us for the East India experience.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent Food, Great Ambiance”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

East India PDX is our go to place for family birthdays, anniversaries and other special celebrations. The food is not 100% authentic in taste, but is delicious all the same. What I like best is that the taste, spice level and quantity of food has been pretty consistent and we have been regulars for over 4 years.
The restaurant staff are attentive and pleasant for the most part. I will say here that I think it is largely because we are regulars her and have built a rapport with the staff. In the early years there have been some rude staff who fortunately aren't to be seen anymore.
If you're vegetarian, I highly recommend their Paneer Tikka appetizer and Kerala Vegetable. If you get Renee to wait on your table, consider yourself lucky!
Unless your going during the week, it makes sense to call ahead and make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aarthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Started off great, but quickly went downhill”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in Portland for a few days and one of the great joys of Portland is its wide variety of restaurants. Having a hankering for Indian, we decided to try a place not too far from the hotel for lunch. First of all I should preface this by saying that we have spent time in London where Indian restaurants are everywhere and competition is stiff so my expectation of Indian food may be a bit higher than many others. The menu had three prixe-fix options and we chose the middle option which gave us soup, samosas a tandoori option and a curry with rice. The soup came out first and,while it was a bit thin, it was tasty and the flavors well-balanced. The samosa came out next and were incredible - some of the best I have ever tasted. They were presented cut in half with chutney on top. Then came out our seekh kabobs. Yumm. By this time we were getting very excited about our upcoming curries. What a disappointment! My husband had the fish curry and it was nothing to write home about, and my chicken Korma was not at all as good as this dish can be or even reasonably close. The chicken was dry and tasted like it had been cooked separately, left on a warming dish to dry out and tossed in the curry sauce at the last minute, not cooked in it. The first three dishes held such promise and both curries were major let-downs. Would I eat here again? Doubtful unless I was convinced that the chef who ruined what could have been marvelous curries was demoted to dishwasher.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ate here with friends while visiting the Portland area, they had said it was the best Indian food in the area. I'll take them at their word having not tried other locations in Portland, the food was excellent. Wide ranging menu we had a variety of items (vindallo, butter chicken, vegetable dishes) and they were all excellent. Service was very good. Will be back again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Catering, Food & Service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were looking for a place to celebrate our parents 50th Anniversary. Pradeep at East India Company worked with us to make this an unforgettable event. They are usually closed on Sundays but he opened the restaurant up for us to have a private party. We had quite a few food restrictions and special needs and he worked with us to ensure that each guest could be accommodated. We also wanted a band and he opened up the place a few hours early so the band could set up. Overall, the food and service was excellent and everyone had an incredible evening. Thanks so much to Pradeep and his team for making it an amazing event for our parents.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjaypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Let down by poor service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I ate here in June 2011 and rated this 5 star. This was my second visit to Portland and I couldn't wait to return. Once again the food was superb, no complaints on that front whatsoever. This time though our enjoyment was almost ruined by the terrible service. From the unfriendly greeting, to food not turning up, to the sullen attitude of many staff. The service was utterly confused. We had six!! different servers, one guy poured water, one guy brought drinks, one lady slapped down food in front of us, one lady asked how our food was, one guy looked absolutely clueless and one lady had to apologize or all the mistakes. What a shame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East India Co. also viewed

 

Been to East India Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing