We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed and mislead” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed and mislead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I thought we would try a bed and breakfast for our anniversary for a quiet little getaway in downtown Portland. We have lived here 12 years and been to a few that were out of town so we thought we would try one that was a little closer to home. My first sign that something was amiss was when I tried calling to make a reservation. The innkeeper Ellen sounded confused and and referred me to the website instead of taking the reservation over the phone. If you have a customer on the phone ready to make a reservation why would you refer them to an impersonal website? So, I went to the website and reserved a room for the following Friday, plenty of time for her to have gone to the website and taken down our info.

We arrived at 6:30pm the night we reserved only to find that the innkeeper Ellen had not even bothered to check the website and therefore had not reserved our room. It was not clean or ready for us so she asked us to come back in a half hour so she could clean it. The intereior of the B&B was underwhelming to say the least, it was cluttered and the sitting room was full of second hand furniture. Another guest from CA was checking in at the same time and looked equally disappointed. It was awkward to sit quietly in this room with the other person while Ellen's chief concern was running both of our credit cards and collecting up front. $140 for a room in this establishment is paying too much so I guess I understand her desire to get the money before visitors change their mind. The pictures on the website were beautiful, the real thing was average at best and the main attraction for this B&B was lost when we saw it from the street. It is not quiet or cozy, the front is overgrown and the only view was trees in the front yard which was on a main thoroughfare.The room we intended to stay in felt like a spare room in someone's house. So my wife and I left to look for a place to have dinner or a drink but what we really wanted was to unpack and relax after a long week. We talked about it and the more we did the more uncomfortable we were with the whole situation. So after a cocktail and 45 minutes we went back. The house was dark and empty so I walked upstairs to see if I could find Ellen, she had just entered our room (which was a total mess) and had not yet begun cleaning. At that poinjt I had had enough. I nicely asked for a refund and said we were going to make alternate plans. She agreed and apologized.

For an establishment to charge that much money for a single night's stay in a below average room is almost larceny. Ellen was very distracted and nervous and seemed like she had other things to do and our arrival was a surpise to her. Not the kind of reception one expects when putting down $140 for a night that was supposed to be quiet and romantic and ended up being disappointing and not worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Troy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    5
    12
    4
See reviews for
7
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I`ve stayed in Bellaterra B&B for 3 nights last month (July, 2012). The people in charge are absolutely nice and lovely, always willing to help you. The house is magical, with its unique style and fascinating decoration. I stayed in the Woodland room: wonderful view (full of trees), big and confortable bed, walk-in shower, lilttle fridge, microwave oven, wardrobe, desk, air conditioning.
What is more, I totally loved the neighbourhood, full of flowers, plants, trees and nature, and if you stop at every corner of Corbett Avenue you will be able to appreciate a magnificent view of the gorgeous landscape.
There are many places to eat nearby, supermarkets , and also bus stops (you can get to downton Portland in like 10 minutes, or even less, by bus).
You have 2 options for breakfast: the hot one (delicious home-made preparations) or the cold one (cereals, toasts, bread, coffee, yoghurt, etc).
All in all, I loved my stay in Bellaterra, it was perfect and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayelen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Best place to stay for unique experience and personal touch....plenty of places to eat and things to do....The inn keeper Ellen is a very fascinating woman and very down to earth overall good cook and great person. Each room is unique with its own style and taste. Not far from downton...Hope to return for anniversary. Thank you Ellen for an unique experience.....Tommy and Julie......

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passionplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast in Portland, OR is a wonderful and relaxing little oasis! I cannot recommend it highly enough. I initially booked this room after buying the Living Social coupon deal. When I emailed to schedule, the innkeeper, Ellen, was quick, friendly and so accommodating. The rooms are gorgeous. Every little need is taken care of for you and every little detail has been lovingly added. As a busy traveler, I was not able to be here as much as I'd like to be, but she made it very easy for me to get what I needed. Her hospitality was so welcome and appreciated. I would recommend this for the traveler who is tired of hotels, for the couple who wants a romantic getaway, or for anyone who wants to stay at a high quality B & B!

Room Tip: The website has pictures so that you can make your choice. I don't think you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My experience was not ideal however in honesty I do think the innkeeper tries to the best of her ability. The room I finally got after about 18 emails and 5 phone calls was the Scheherazake Room...I had booked another room and it was confirmed but apparently the previous guest decided to extend his stay and so I was bumped. I had specifically booked at this place for that particular room I confirmed so I was not pleased with being bumped. The house is old and in need of some repair and a thorough cleaning but overall, her heart is in the right place. The room was indeed very small even for one person. The bathtub was nice and the breakfast was decent. Overall, I would say it was acceptable but I wouldn't return based on my experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Didi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Bellaterra twice and we absolutely love it. The B&B is situated in a nicely restored Victorian home with a sitting area and dining room on the first floor and cozy, clean guest rooms upstairs. The owner is very helpful and there's plenty of literature about what to do or getting around town. Our favorite part is the breakfast-she cooks up unique flavors and every time we've eaten there she has offered us plenty of breakfast options. I'm sure we'll stay there again one day.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite different from one another so ask the owner when you reserve which would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon, we stayed in the Sunrise Room. It was big, the bed was comfy and it was extremely clean. We wanted to be near a restaurant that served gluten free fish and chips (Hawthorne Fish House on Corbett Ave) and this place was right down the road from this B&B. The host was extremely accommodating and had no issues cooking up a tasty gluten free breakfast.

She was also helpful in pointing out things to do in Portland.....even if you don't need to eat gluten free, this was a cozy place in a quiet part of town.

The other reviewer spoke about coffee before 9am and this is true....but the coffee maker is setup and ready to go....all you have to do is flip a switch.

Room Tip: On a clear day, you can see Mt. Hood from the Sunrise Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muejl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#37 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3935 SW Corbett Avenue, Portland, OR 97239
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creatively elegant rooms with private baths in our newly-restored Victorian residence. Located in Lair Hill, .7 mi to OHSU, Pill Hill, and South Waterfront; 1 mi to PSU & downtown. Easy transportation: buses, bike path, ample street parking. Nice walks in neighborhood and nearby in woods and on riverfront. There are views of the Willamette River and Mt. Hood from the east-facing rooms, bright south-facing rooms, evergreens off the north (Woodland) room, and mature trees all around. Each room is designed to set the guest's imagination on the path to another time or place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing