We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locale, great productions”

Portland Center Stage at The Armory
Ranked #49 of 442 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Gerding Theater at the Armory is the home of Portland Center Stage, the city's leading professional theater and one of the top 20 largest regional theater companies in the U.S. PCS's mission is to inspire our community by bringing stories to life in unexpected ways. Founded in 1988, PCS attracts more than 150,000 theatergoers annually with its blend of classical, contemporary and world premiere works, along with its summer playwrights festival, JAW. PCS also offers a variety of education and community programs tailored for patrons of all ages. Located in Portland's Pearl District, the Gerding Theater at the Armory houses two theaters: The U.S. Bank Main Stage and the Ellyn Bye Studio. It was the first building on the National Register of Historic Places - and the first performing arts venue - to achieve a LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Platinum certification.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great locale, great productions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Highly professional productions with actors drawn from across the country. Comfortable seating with no bad sightlines. Charming small café with delicious food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SW_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    24
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Play's the thing...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had my doubts about this project when it started, but was very happily surprised by the outcome. The main stage auditorium is very comfortable with not a bad seat in the house. The lobbies are always interesting with art shows. The plays vary a bit but are thought-provoking. Of course, it is on the streetcar line, which makes attending very easy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre and Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The inside of this building is spectacular and it was designed with a perfect mix of historic and contemporary elements. It's also a LEED Platinum building which is pretty cool. The shows are high quality. There are a variety of productions, so some of them may not be for everyone. The shows in the smaller theater downstairs are edgy and typically have a much smaller cast--sometimes just one person. However, I would definitely catch a musical if you can. They only do one or two of them in a season, but they rival anything you would see in the Keller Auditorium.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Jewel of a theater in The Pearl District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pleasant place to watch a play. Staff are friendly and fairly helpful. Drinks, food and coffee available before and at the intermission. Lots of other great food places around in walking distance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cumbria_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great option when visiting Portland.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We visited over the weekend late Jan 2014. The theater was pretty close to our hotel (downtown), and close to a lot of great shops and Powell's books. It's quite easy to make an evening out of it. We saw Chinglish and really liked it. The actual theater was really well decorated and had a good feeling to it. It allows guests to mingle before the show. We ordered tickets online and there was no trouble at all getting them via will call. We sat near the back and had no issues seeing the show, Volume was a little softer back there, so if you are hard of hearing I would recommend being closer to the stage.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Center Stage at The Armory also viewed

 

Been to Portland Center Stage at The Armory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing