We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveler rating
576
366
90
35
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
366
90
35
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffalo wild wingsportland airportbreakfast sandwichred robinfree breakfastfree shuttlewithin walking distancemax stationflight pathday passoatmealsitting arearental carshopping and restaurantsrooms are largethe hotel is cleanlight rail
Filter
Updating list...
751 - 756 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

First, this is your typical Hyatt Place and it does not deviate from their standard floor plan. However, unlike some, this one felt like it was more open and had more light. Very convenient to the airport with a free shuttle almost on demand. Plus, just a few blocks from the transit light rail station that goes directly downtown which is an adventure in itself. No need to hire a car and an all day pass is only $5.00 ($1.00 for Seniors). In addition, it is situated at the Cascade Station- a huge, well planned, outdoor shopping mall that has abundant trees and flowers and with lot of places to eat just within a block or two.The setting almost has a rural, uncrowded feel to it. Although in approach path of the airport, I never heard the planes although I could see them close by. The front staff was amazing, especially Sara who wanted to make sure that everyone that passed by felt special.

Downsides (and why no 5 stars) is that the breakfast area was always crowded no matter what time we came by during our 5 day stay. As a result, there was not enough clean up and the coffee always seemed to be out. However, being a Hyatt Platinum member, I have found this to be the case at many HPs in the past and I think this is an issue with the business model; the common areas need to be bigger with more bus staff. By-the-way, although you can light fare 24/7, there is no room service but they will package it to take back to your room.

Others have mentioned the noise in the room This is also a typical problem at most HPs were there is no enough structural/sound deadening support between floors. You can always hear the people walking above you. For this reason, you should always ask for a top floor at any HP. And...like some others, I found the bed too soft. Finally, the pool was somewhat cold and thus lightly used (you can see it lack of use from the breakfast area).

All up, this is a great place to stay to visit Portland if you do no want to rent a car and deal with traffic. Portland has a great public transit system anyway. And, as with most HPs, the front desk staff is amazing!

Room Tip: Top floor definitely!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback on Hyatt Place Portland Airport at Cascade Station. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I appreciate your comments regarding breakfast, as we are always looking to grow. We hope to see you next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Morgan Plummer
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
morgan.plummer@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Two day business trip.

Pros:
1. Great location, just minutes from the airport
2. Eateries and shopping in walking distance.
3. Standard Hyatt Place amenities
4. Helpful staff
5. This location is located directly under the flight path, of the airport. My room was on the top 4th floor and I did not hear any aircraft noise, while in my room.

Cons:
Whatever the cleanser/ air freshner '"ALL Hyatt Place hotels use is annoying if not sickening. They should seriously consider using a fragrance / cleaner that is not so offensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Place Portland Airport on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciates. We hope to see you next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Morgan Plummer
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
morgan.plummer@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have stayed at many an airport hotel, and never have expected much. Many times my expectations have been met by having a clean comfortable place to stay near the airport, and a few times I have been quite pleasantly surprised. That was the case here at the Hyatt Place at Cascade Station in Portland. This concept of a hotel really thinks outside the box. The operation is 100% customer service driven. The layout of the property is well thought out. Having the bar and the front desk connected and all team members cross trained is a great idea.

One service they provide is having cooked to order food available 24/7 through their galley service. You order the food and they call you when it's ready for pick up. They also have a full breakfast in the morning which is included with your room

The rooms are spacious with a divider between the bedroom and living room areas.

The negative thing I have to say about my stay is that my wake up request was not honored and I received no call.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! Our goal is offer the best customer service possible, and we are glad you got to experience this. I do sincerely apoligize about you not receiving your wake up call. It is with feedback like yours that we can avoid such matters in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience.

Best Regards,

Morgan Plummer
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
morgan.plummer@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel has so much going for it: great helpful staff, clean and modern amenities, good gym, great breakfast included with the cost of the room and convenient to the airport and the highway. The fact that parking is free is also a bonus. If you have a car it is a short drive to downtown. You are alos very close to the public transit station

i would have given it 4 stars if it weren't for the very poor beds. They have a dense pillow-top that makes it feel as though you are sleeping on a futon. Some might like that, but for anyone over 30 it is not comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Hyatt Place Portland Airport on TripAdvisor. I am so glad you were able to take advantage of our many fabulous amentities! Also, thank you for the honest feedback regarding the beds in your guest room. We hope to see you next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Morgan Plummer
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
morgan.plummer@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed one night as a quick overnight prior to flying out the next morning. The other options around PDX didn't wow us and this seemed to be one of the better options. After having had an ok experience at another hotel nearby we decided to give this a go, though it is significantly pricier (~$160 per night vs ~$90 per night - Choice or ~$100 for a decent chain). It was nice, but for the price we were expecting more. I feel you get a better value going with a hotel that will probably not wow you but be much cheaper so longer as you're just doing an overnight.

Very nice lobby and super convenient location for the airport. Room was ok but an awkward layout. Furniture and decor in the room was just ok, but looked new. Bathroom setup was a bit weird it was relatively new and decent. Could pretty easily hear through the walls, but always hard to tell if you just had louder neighbors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review Hyatt Place Portland Airport at Cascase Station. It with with feedback like yours that keeps us growing. We hope to see you next time you are in Portland!

Best Regards,

Morgan Plummer
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
morgan.plummer@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews