We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only great people can overcome the Snowmageddon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only great people can overcome the Snowmageddon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Kelly, Alyssa & Rachel were running at 110% capacity last night, handling wave after wave of displaced travelers & diners when the airlines cancelled flights & the nearby restaurants closed early. There was not a moment's respite for over 2 hours as they juggled the front desk, dining area & bar, kitchen orders, concierge/transportation services and watching the lobby. I had greater satisfaction watching them perform at an Olympic pace than watching the Olympic competitions! They deserve special accolades for so superlatively representing the Hyatt brand in the face of overwhelming numbers (& too many special orders... mojitos? gluten-free bread? really?) I'm here regularly for work so I'm familiar with the normal pace of operations in the evening. With twice the staff they would still have been slammed...but they never quit. Thanks, ladies!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear John M,
I will surely acknowledge Kellee, Rachel and Alyssa for their outstanding efforts and performance! It is truly delightful to hear appreciation for their maintaining order and composure during extreme conditions and I thank you for taking the time to recognize them, as, I am sure, will they!

In addition, thank you for your continued loyalty; it is always great to see familiar, regular faces in our Gallery and I hope to meet you during your next visit!

Thank you, again, for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    312
    73
    22
    21
See reviews for
313
212
61
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Place was very clean and is right by a large shopping center with lots of food options. Was just a few miles from the airport and had a free shuttle. Staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable. Would totally stay here again.

It's probably a better coming in and going hotel for the airport than seeing Portland.

I was disappointed in their late night food options. They were out of the flat bread pizzas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear ctunnell,
Thank you for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor and I want to apologize that we ran out of our flatbread pizzas during your stay. These items are my personal favorite and, apparently, others' as well if we ran out! I will make sure our Food & Beverage manager is aware that this happened so that we can be sure to offer you our full 24-hour Cafe' menu during your next visit.

I am pleased that your stay was otherwise enjoyable; we definitely appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers visiting Portland!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I spent two nights here prior to leaving Oregon. The Hyatt Place has an excellent location near the airport. It's very convenient to Cascade Station as well. The room was very nice and clean. It was larger than we expected with a couch / desk area in front and bed behind a small divider. The breakfast was also better than expected with some hot items to go along with the standard fare. I would recommend this as a place to start or end your visit to Oregon... or even as a base to explore Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
mstiwin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor! Many guests find our location to be perfect not only for conferences and meetings but also leisure travel being that we have an excellent shopping experience at Cascade Station and are a short commute from downtown via the Max Light Rail. In fact, we proudly offer an "Explore Portland" package which includes two complimentary day-use Max Passes as well as maps of the area. I also appreciate you mentioning our spacious guest rooms as well as the tasty Skillet Breakfast offering!

Thank you, again, for your review, and we hope to have you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I selected this hotel based on my first stay a couple years ago. The quality, service, cleanliness, comfort and amenities are still at the level they were. Although it costs a little more than some of the surrounding hotels, it is worth it. The shuttle service is good for going back and forth to the airport, and the proximity of the train station is convenient for going downtown. Lots of stores and restaurants close by. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when needing a room close to PDX.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear laGuera:
It is wonderful to hear that you consider us your preferred property at the PDX area! Further, I am delighted that you found our service and amenities to be at the level they were during your first stay. Hopefully, I will have the opportunity to meet you during your next visit.

Thank you for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This airport hotel really stands out. I was in town for a conference and was working the whole weekend, the friendliness of the staff was truly humbling. I really would like to point out and thank the "house man" Earl. He was very friendly and hospitable. We talked for a while and not once did he stop working. Great guy!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7jordanrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello 7jordanrr!
Thank you for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor! It is very exicting to receive such positive feedback about Earl as he is one of the newest additions to our team! I will make sure to share your appreciation with him and his direct supervisor. We would love to have you back if you are in town for another conference or even a vacation as Portland is a great place to visit for leisure.

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is a perfect place to stay prior to or after a flight. It is only 5 minutes from the Portland Airport on the hotel shuttle. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds are very comfortable and as stated by otehr reviewers, it's nice to have a sitting area with a couch separate from the sleeping area. Most hotels have only 2 chairs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cafe near the lobby is so convenient and the food very good. We have already booked another stay.

Room Tip: We like the top floor if a room is available to avoid noise above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneymomOregonCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear disneymomOregonCoast:
I am thrilled that you found our rooms so comfortable and I would have to agree with you that the gallery cafe' menu selections are quite tasty - I often have a grilled cheese and tomato soup for lunch, myself!

It is very flattering that you have already booked your next stay and we are excited to have you back!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our new criteria for a hotel means a pool. Not many hotels in downtown Portland have a pool on property. Having to leave the building to use a pool associated with an athletic club doesn't thrill me, so we went with the Hyatt Place near the airport. A bonus was free parking, plus we got Hyatt points. The room was spacious, even without any upgrades, but bland. It was a plus to have a mini-fridge.

My only complaint would be noise. The walls seemed thin as we could clearly hear our neighbors watching tv. As a consequence, I put the fan on the wall unit all night to provide white noise.

I agree that real eggs can push breakfast towards a higher tier, but there is plenty to choose from. We viewed their breakfast as a convenience factor, as we needed to be on the road early. There was nothing that made you want to linger but you got your choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, danishes, or hot french toast, sausage and fake eggs. That's really plenty for the breakfast on the go. The Torrefazione coffee was a great touch.

For some odd reason, their elevators were absolutely freezing. It was like walking into a freezer every time we used the elevator.

As for the complaints by another reviewer that you have to search out better food (i.e. not chain food), this is the trade off for staying near ANY airport. The savings from staying outside of the downtown area comes at the price of chain restaurants and shops at Cascade Station. We had been out all day so by dinner, we weren't in the exploring mood. We tried IHOP merely out of convenience but the service was nonexistent. The nearby restaurants are again, convenient, but if one demands better quality restaurants, you will have to be willing to drive out of the immediate neighborhood. The Alberta district is chock-full of great eateries if you are up for going 20 min. or so away from the hotel. You get what you pay for.

We'd stay again, but will definitely look for better restaurants for dinner near the hotel. This will be our alternative to staying downtown, though we probably wouldn't stay in this area every time we come to Portland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear LLori:
Thank you for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor! I am proud to mention that our pool and hot tub are open 24-hours, a rare find at hotels. In addition, I am sorry to hear of the discomfort you experienced with noise from a neighboring room and am relieved that your white noise solution worked! Our front desk does respond very seriously to reports of noise concerns so please do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you experience this again.

In the next few months, Cascade Station will be opening a new restaurant that is not such a common chain and we are very excited to try it out! In the meantime, many of our guests enjoy eating at either Beaches or Stanfords; these restaurants are actually at the PDX airport and our shuttle is happy to transport guests to and from dinner at no cost. We have always received wonderful reviews from guests about these close-by options so hopefully you can try them on your next visit!

Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review and we hope to be of service to you next time you are in Portland!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#37 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Property: Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Address: 9750 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing