We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal airport hotel - with hot oatmeal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Ranked #30 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I can think of nothing I would change about this hotel. It's close to PDX, which can be reached in minutes by MAX light-rail or the hotel's free shuttle. It's attractive, clean and well-appointed, and the staff is efficient and helpful. You can be in your room within fifteen or twenty minutes from claiming your your luggage at the airport carousel. And you'll love the room: A nicely-laid out mini-suite, it has super comfortable beds, a separate sitting room, a well-designed office nook, and a microwave and mini-fridge. The bathroom is bright, stylish and functional. Finally, the hotel's complimentary breakfast offers a fine selection, including healthy options, served by a cheerful, efficient staff. I was delighted to find an ample pot of hot oatmeal - a personal imperative. All of this makes this hotel a perfect choice for a short airport stay, but I've also found it handy as an inexpensive alternative to downtown hotels when sightseeing in Portland. Only three blocks from the Cascades MAX station, it gives ready access to the whole metro area without the necessity of renting a car.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brabantio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel was brand new and in great physical condition but the care and attention from staff was limited. It was not at the highest levels. It is across the street from some interesting shopping and nearby restaurants. It is also very close to the airport. Overall, i would say it has no soul, a warm sense of being at home. It still has an aura of a cold and lifeless place. They need to smile more and be happier. maybe i caught them on a bad day but the place was too forced, not welcoming or homey. It was clean and convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeSawSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

We appreciate this and all feedback, as it assists us to reach our goal to not only meet, but also exceed our guest's expectations.
Our hiring practices are always in an effort to find the most accomodating personell in the business to take care of our guests needs. These comments will be brought forward at our next team meeting to ensure guests of the Hyatt Place always feel MORE than welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed at Hyatt Place on my way home from a family emergency (my grandfather was dying and had in fact died the day before I had to return to Hawaii) and it was just what I needed to collect my thoughts and rest before returning home to work.

The location is very close to the airport making it easy to return a rental car and catch a flight early in the morning. The room itself was clean and well laid out, the bed was very comfortable. The seating area with a large "L" shaped couch and ottoman made you feel like you were in someone's house rather than a hotel. The big screen TV was perfectly located in the center of the room so that you could easily watch it from the couch or the bed. There was a nice throw blanket so you could cover up and watch tv on the couch. Again, it was like being in someone's living room rather than a hotel.

There is no room service but there is a place to go down and "self" order food through a computer screen and charge to your room. Once you place your order a guy behind the counter puts your food together and packs it all up for you. You can eat in the provided eating area or you can take it back to your room.

There was a business center area with a couple computers and a printer so you could print off boarding passes or the like.

The service was prompt and friendly and checking in and out was simple and quick.

The only negative was at some point the evening I was there the fire alarm went off so we all had to vacate our rooms. It was VERY cold out and many people had children and were trying to find warmth in the entrance of the hotel. They never really came out and told us what was going on AND honestly it seemed like they were rather confused on what was going on themselves. I think we were outside for about an hour. Finally they came and told us we could go back in.

The next day when I checked out there was no attempt to compensate me for this BUT the lady before me I think got some sort of deduction. Apparently because I booked through Expedia, I didn't rate any sort of refund. I wasn't too worried about it but it would have been nice for some sort of acknowledgement of the inconvenience.

Over all I highly recommend this hotel, I would stay there again and in fact will be on my way back to Hawaii after an upcoming vacation! Just hope there won't be a fire alarm this time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

We appreciate this and all feedback, as it assists us to reach our goal to not only meet, but also exceed our guest's expectations.
Please note the comments noted here are not a common happening of the hotel. This fire alarm was not a drill, we had a fire station pulled within the hotel, which requires evacuation until the problem is found. As indicated in this guests review, it turned out to be a false alarm, however, safety of our guests is our #1 priority. In that effort, despite the less than desirable circumstances these precautions had to unfortunately be taken.
With regard to a discount, hotels are unable to offer discounts when accommodations are booked through 3rd parties, such as Expedia. These sites have value without doubt, however, when using these sites, you are actually paying these parties rather than the hotel, making the hotel unfortunately unable to refund monies paid.
Again, we appreciate the feedback and apologize for the inconvenience! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

There's much to celebrate about this hotel, but unfortunately, it was how we were treated when requesting advertised complementary shuttle service (besides a trip to/from airport) which tainted our stay. After asking to be taken to a local tourist destination (within the mile range offered), we were asked to wait for a shuttle driver to return (which we happily did for 15 minutes). While we were waiting, another hotel guest arrived and asked to be taken to the airport so the young woman at reception called over to us telling us that she was sorry, but the hotel could no longer take us--the other guest (with the airport destination) was given the priority and she told us we'd need to make other arrangements (we settled on a cab ride). While I understand that airport shuttling is a priority (given the hotel's location), we were't offered the option to ride along and get dropped off after the other guest was taken to the airport, and ultimately, we were left feeling like we'd done something wrong by asking. The bottom line is if the hotel is unable to provide additional shuttle service (beyond the airport) they shouldn't offer this service to their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RosieBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

We appreciate this and all feedback, as it assists us to reach our goal to not only meet, but also exceed our guest's expectations.
We had identified the shuttle service we at one time offered within 5 miles of the hotel as a problem with the high traffic we have to the airport. We discontinued this offering and have removed it from all websites; as we always desire to be able to deliver on everything we promise and this offering was not meeting that goal. We will, in an effort to be accommodating to guest needs, take guests to attractions within 5 miles whenever possible despite this no longer being an advertised amenity. In this case, we made a mistake and should have offered to take these guests to the destination requested, as we had already agreed. It is our intention to always deliver as our guests are our top priority, and this will be used as a training opportunity to ensure we do not repeat our mistakes. Again, thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I really enjoyed the room. big tv, everything seemed pretty new, except the AC. it does get pretty loud at night. I did hear a few planes here and there, but it wasn't exactly noticeable (especialy if you have the A/C on).

My favorite part was probably the couch. could probably fit another person on there, a great place to hang out.
The area is great, nice mall across the street. seems really new and quiet.

Location is alright, probably 10-15 mins from downtown Portland.

Room Tip: don't expect exceptional service
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family stayed here July 21st-July25th. We normally stay at the Embassy Suites but I decided to try this hotel since it was less expensive. We had a nice stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the deocor was nice. The location was also ideal with plenty of nearby shopping and restaurants and the light rail within walking distance. The basic continental breakfast was decent although the set up was slightly confusing. I would suggest walking over to IHOP if you want a hot and good breakfast instead of the hotel's hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnybleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Modern, attractive, inviting place to stay
To go breakfast provided for early travelers

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilipuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.1 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#39 of 144 in Portland
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Address: 9750 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6827
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $151 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing