We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little taco restaurant~”
Review of Fonda Rosa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fonda Rosa
Ranked #1,746 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best little taco restaurant~”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This tiny little place off of East Burnside is amazing! The tacos are authentic, the margaritas are delicious, and the place is charming. We love that you can order the tacos individually, as well as a full dinner. And the place is teeny tiny, so the owner is always there, making sure everything is top-notch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank annecleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chili Rellenos are smokin' and the staff is phenomenal...”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Well, this was very nice.......on a couple recommendations and yelp reviews, I stopped into Fonda Rosa. I can honestly say that I have not had a chili relleno this good, in a dogs age. From the cheese to the type of sauce they use. It's top notch. The chips are also very good here. I can only assume they make their meals from scratch here. The wait staff and owner are also very personable, which is always very nice. Interaction did not seem forced. Soooo, that said, if i'm here again, I would definetly return....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pdx, OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eh~”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really wanted to like this place but the food just isn't anything close to being memorable. We had a very dry mole chicken enchilada, a pork enchildada that was salty with the meat in each likely boiled and not roasted properly. The rice and beans were bor-ring, and there were only faint glimmers of crema and cojita on the plates. Notably absent was something resembling la comida tipica--a roasted pepper or hot sauce endemic to any regional cuisine of Mexico.
The cardinal sin was the margarita made with a mix. Unforgivable. If you like margaritas made with a mix, then you probably will like this place in all its aburrida glory.
Really nothing unusual, daring or off the hook here.
I can't say that the ambiance was delightful either with a boorish loud woman at the bar yell talking about her work in the medical insurance business.
The prices at Fonda Rosa were not reasonable considering the quality of the food. Many food carts have better enchildadas than this place.
The standards for Mexican food in Portland are high--I recommend La Calaca Comelona and Autentica. In the immediate neighborhood surrounding Fonda Rosa there are a lot of better restaurants than this.
I completely disagree with most of the favorable reviews being posted here. I find them suspicious or written by chuckleheads at best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnBuenTipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. The waitress is nice and attentive, I've had the same one on the three occasions I've been there. Margaritas are great! One of the best since living in Portland! You won't go wrong with the tacos. Order the mole enchiladas if they have them. They are not a regular menu item, but are sometimes on special. This is not a typical Mexican restaurant, much smaller portions but higher quality food. they have a lot of seafood options too. If you are in the neighborhood, it's worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna_bella_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food - not very family-friendly”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We ate here once about 2 years ago. We've tried to go back twice now as a family. There are always little kids in there, but the hostess made it pretty clear that we would have been putting her out if we wanted seated with our kids, even though we've always shown up pretty early. Bad vibe. It's unfortunate since we really do like their food. Luckily there's mexican food all over the city.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wyleebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonda Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing