We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Love "The Pearl"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl District

Pearl District
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Beer Love Brewery Tour in the Pearl District
Ranked #15 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of Portland that offers fine dining and businesses.
Harwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We Love "The Pearl"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

During December we rented an Apartment on the waterfront adjacent to the Pearl District and thoroughly enjoyed our daily walks through the Pearl which has many good restaurants and brew pubs to be enjoyed. We especially liked the areas around Tanner Springs Park and Jamison Square. Jamison Square had a large tree in the center decorated for Christmas. There are also many shops and a large REI where we did much of our Christmas shopping. The Portland Streetcar runs through the area which provides access to other areas of Portland and connection to the Max light rail. In summary the Pearl is a lively district of portland not to be missed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    297
    98
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“What a great part of town to just wander around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved the Pearl District. Spent days just wandering about and enjoying the shops, restaurants, brewpubs and atmosphere. A must do part of Portland for any visitor!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unappealing (to me anyway)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The area was highly recommended to me by a few people. After seeing it, I have no idea why. It's kind of sprawling and mostly unattractive...at least from what I saw. Block after block of mostly uninteresting architecture punctuated by that occasional Portland style of almost painful self-awareness that seems to characterize so many of its shops and restaurants. I bailed after 20 minutes or so of looking around. I found Portland to be kind of a disappointment in general, though, so maybe it just doesn't suit me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Typical urban shopping district, with some art.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Spent three days in downtown Portland on vacation. The Pearl District reminds me of a smaller less cool San Francisco. Lots of food and some art galleries, it was EMPTY when we were there except for the homeless who were ever present but mostly non-aggressive. Powell's City of books is a treasure. Other shops in the area are typical of what you might find in any other city. We walked so I can't attest to the parking situation.

Helpful?
1 Thank NoOneSpecial12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big City Shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Much like San Francisco or New York and more compact than Seattle, with lots of stylish boutique shopping for clothes and furnishings. Plenty of places to eat, most often eye-candy for the stomach!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pearl District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing