We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too expensive and not clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Southwest
Ranked #57 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
palo alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too expensive and not clean.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

stayed here during a family roadtrip... the rooms were smelly and dusty. my kids were coughing during our stay.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank norcallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
36
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

The rooms are nice but need some overlooked cleaning. I couldn't sleep with cob webs hanging over the bed. The widow valence Were laced with more cob webs and dust. If you have a dust allergy this might not be a good place to stay. I did mention this problem the last time I was there and we got the same room and the dust was still there. The jacuzzi tubs also need some maintenance the water was clear as the tub filled but when we turned on the jets the water turned brown we didn't even attempt to use it. They did move us to another room and we ran into the same problem with the tub and the dust and cob webs. Overall bathrooms were clean bed was comfortable. So a little elbow grease this place could make three stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed one night (Saturday) so that we could go to Roloff farms on Sunday. The kids liked the indoor pool, but the lighting was poor and flickered enough to make me seasick. The room was comfortable, it was nice to be able to open the windows. Having a fridge, microwave and coffee maker are always a bonus. I would recommend hitting the continental breakfast early. It goes from 6-10am, but my family got there at 9:30 and there was hardly anything left. This hotel is centrally located and there are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Jones, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

Living at the California = Oregon border, my husband and I travel to Portland at least 3 times a year to see shows, etc. The first time we did so we stayed at this hotel and we have returned every time since. Away from the hustle of downtown (5 minutes north) the hotel is conveniently located to the entire Portland Metro region. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff are incredibly accommodating. We love this hotel and have nothing but great things to say about it.

  • Liked — Location, Quiet surroundings
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PV8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
274 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for four nights over the Thanksgiving holiday because 1) it's less than a mile from our daughter's home (with whom we were celebrating the holiday), and 2) I've stayed at other Comfort (and Quality) Suites and have found them to be fine for what they are.

This one was also quite nice, and I only rated it "above average" because I believe a hotel should be more of a luxury property to receive an "excellent.'

The hotel is convenient to I-5 and 99-W near Tualatin, is clean and well-kept, has a complimentary breakfast with a hot item or two each day (eggs and bacon on the first day, biscuits and gravy the next day, eggs and sausage on the third day), free Internet access in both the business center and the rooms, an indoor pool and spa, and a modest fitness room.

One minor and one major issue worth mentioning.

The room across the hall was occupied by a woman and her seven (no, that's not a typo!) children. The kids were loud enough that we heard them through their locked door when walking down the hall but not once we were inside our room.

When I mentioned it to the night clerk, she said she'd gladly ask the woman to keep a tighter rein on her kids and offered to move us. As we couldn't hear them while in our room, that wasn't necessary, but the clerk deserves big points for being responsive when I raised the issue.

The major issue was on our last morning. We had to catch an early flight, so asked for a 5:30 wake-up call. The call came...at 6:00 a.m, a full half-hour late! Fortunately, we had awakened on our own -- so no harm was done -- but the big issue was this: when I told the desk clerk about it, SHE SAID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. No apology, no "thanks for letting me know," no "I'll look into it and see what happened," nothing. She simply looked at me with a blank stare that could have indicated she didn't hear me, didn't care, didn't speak English, wasn't yet awake... you who knows what? The bottom line was that I got NO RESPONSE AT ALL, and that was completely unacceptable.

That aside, it was a pleasant stay and we would stay there again...though we'd be sure we had another way of being awakened rather than trust a hotel wake-up call that may or may not come on time.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crescent city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

Overall the establishment was average. Check-in staff were not overly friendly. The rooms were comfortable enough although the beds were too hard for my taste. Overall, it felt very safe, there was no traffic noise, and the kids loved the pool!

The location was great for us. It is within a couple of miles to the mall and has easy access to both I-5 and 217 to hit everywhere you need to go.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familytravelersas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly! Location was great too. What more can I ask for?!?! I'll be returning to this hotel again when I'm back in Portland.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and wonderful staff!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deanidleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
1.9 mi away
Aladdin Inn and Suites
Aladdin Inn and Suites
#81 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
12.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hospitality Inn
Hospitality Inn
#87 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
11.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
12.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Southwest

Property: Comfort Suites Southwest
Address: 11340 SW 60th Ave, Portland, OR 97219-6757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#29 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Southwest Hotel Portland
Comfort Suites Portland
Portland Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing