We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, just no food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Candlewood for a couple of nights. The rooms was very clean and seemed almost new - i'm not sure how old the hotel is but it was very well kept. The room was huge and slept well.
However, there was no breakfast or dinner for this hotel. I didn't realize that but it was no big deal, there are great restaurants conveniently located to the facility. Also the airport is right around the corner.
The room did have an old grease smell - which may have been from someone cooking in the kitchen, but the front desk had some frebreeze that seemed to help quite a bit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rbrown5305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear rbrown5305,

Thank you for taking time to write such great review of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel as the team takes pride in keeping our hotel nice. I will make sure to pass along your comments to our team. Our Candlewood Cupboard is open 24 hours a day and offers guests the flexibility to purchase and take food items to their room. We offer over 200 items all value priced under $6. Local Boyd's coffee is always complimentary. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

A great place to stay if you are visiting portland and don't really care if you are a bit outside the city. It *is* within walking distance to the train into the city, about a 20-25 min ride, BUT not with kids... Still about a mile away.

The hotel is really nice, very new and clean and very well laid out. We had a huge suite, with a seperate bedroom, nice kitchenette that had about everything we needed to make all our meals for a family of four.

My one minor complaint is that because of the style of hotel they only do maid service once a week. This in itself is not a problem, but they should include a little vaccum and broom... In the suites for day to day cleanup...

So what it is lacking in location (although very convenient to the airport) it makes up for in value and comfort. It is easy access to the freeway into the city as well.

We almost paid $60-70 more a night for a hotel with a pool, but we really didn't spend much time hanging out, so it wasn't worth it.

The value was ok, since we had a government rate, but without it it seems a bit pricey, but it seems like most of the places around here are.

The closest grocery is albertsons in kind of a ghetto area next to a strip joint. The store itself was fine, but you have to drive through a pretty gross area of town (not dangerous, just ghetto) to get to it.

They do have a little store in the hotel that had a lot of things and not too pricey.

The free laundry is helpful too...

All in all, we were very pleased and will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchuFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear SchuFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning our proximity to the Max Light Rail system. Please note we do have a complimentary shuttle that runs to the airport and Cascade Station 24 hours a day and can be schedule at the front desk. Also, we offer weekly housekeeping service in an attempt to be an environmentally responsible hotel and reduce waste all while allowing guests privacy they expect. Next time you stay with us we do have a vacuum and broom at the front desk that we allow guests to use during their stay. Costco and Target are less than a mile away and offer grocery and department store items for your convenience. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary 24 hour guest laundry which allows you to do your laundry when time allows you. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Large suites. Clean. Great staff. Large parking lot. Big fluffy towels. Convenient to airport and to highways across the area.
No courtesy breakfast, but they are suites, so no big deal to keep juice and donuts on the fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Strickd,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of of our hotel and calling your stay and the hotel, "close to perfection". We appreciate you mentioning the fluffy towels and the refrigerators which are full size and allow you stock up. Lastly, thank you for mentioning our "great staff". I will make sure to pass along your comments to our team. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We needed a hotel at the airport and trusted the quality reviews on tripadvisor. I booked the room using partial Priority Club Points and cash. We were not disappointed.

We tried for an early check-in (noon) but our room wasn't ready. No problem as the front desk held our luggage as we visited Portland. Upon returning not only was our luggage taken to our room, but they gave us an upgrade into a king suite. A large, clean unit that resembled a nice apartment. The staff was excellent here.

The shuttle was on time in the morning and took us straight to the airport. Traffic around this hotel can be brutal leaving during the afternoon rush hour. Our only regret was not having more time to enjoy the suite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear relayer,

Thank you for the excellent review and for mentioning our hotel was a "Great Place to Stay". We are happy to hold luggage for any early check in requests we are unable to fulfill and we will make sure to share with the staff your comments on how excellent they are. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed one night. Large room but only a queen sized bed. Full size fridge, did not cook. Wifi worked fine. Staff helpful. Location is a bit depressing and grocery stores are not nearby.Bed comfortable and the room was spotless

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Emeritus24,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for mentioning that the team members were helpful. Next time you are in town make sure to ask any team members for directions as we have both a Costco and Target within 1 mile of the hotel. We are thrilled that the room was very comfortable and that the room was spotless. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent staff and facility. Clean, quiet rooms. Free laundry and fitness room. The location is close to the airport and has lots of parking. The grilling area was quite nice and the grills worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear J P,

Thank you so much for taking the time time to write such a kind review about our hotel. We especially appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. We will make sure to share your comments with all of our team members. Lastly, we are happy you mentioned the Gazebo Grill which allows you to unwind and BBQ your own meals whenever you would like, 24 hours a day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ok so my first time at a Candlewood was excellent. Free laundry! all you need is your own detergent. A fridge? Almost a full kitchen? What?! I did not know these places had all these amenities. I drove down from Seattle and packed a lunch so I saved money not eating out. I went to Safeway to stock the full size fridge. If you are coming in from the airport and have no transportation this is not an ideal place because there are not a lot of choices of places to eat nearby except for the Elmers restaurant across the busy street. There are other places around but it is a hike. I will be using these hotels when I am on roadtrips because of all the kitchen amenities. It saves on going out to eat. And I can eat healthier. My only issue was the limited amount of washers and dryers. They have their own DVD library that you can check out movies from for Free!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plan-it-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Plan-it-chick,

Thank you for saying how "excellent" your stay at our hotel was. The full size refrigerator definitely help to alleviate uneeded costs of food expenditures and allow guests to choose and cook their own food how they would like it prepared. Next time we hope you are able to utilize our complimentary 24 hour shuttle which will take you to over 10 restaurants and 20 stores at Cascade Station. We are truly sorry that the 4 complimentary washers and dryers were not adequate for the amount of people using them. We will definitely check into this further and see if additional ones are needed. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Address: 11250 NE Holman St, Portland, OR 97220-1097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $97 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing