We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding stay in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Ranked #69 of 137 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

At first I was concerned about staying so close to a major airport (noise levels), but quickly realized the Candlewood Suites were far from normal expectations. It had superb insulation from outside noise, and the entire staff was polite and accommodating. The rooms all had surprisingly spacious layouts, even with full-size refrigerators, dishwashers and 2-burner stoves. Everything was very clean and well kept, all linens and towels were very high quality, and the mattress was Goldilocks quality - not too hard and not too soft. No free breakfasts here, but with the kitchen you don't need one. Bring your own food with you or get groceries from nearby stores or from the reasonably priced shop in the lobby area. The small gym/workout room was one of the best I've ever seen in any hotel, and finding out the laundry was free (just supply your own soap and/or dryer sheets) was a most pleasant revelation. The free wi-fi in every room and the free business room where you can print out documents, make copies or send faxes was another unexpected perk. The overall superb quality of the facilities, the cleanliness, and the magnificent staff make this hotel an absolute bargain with what you get for the price you pay. I have zero qualms recommending this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent place to stay in Portland. Will also seek out other Candlewood Suites in other cities I visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Augustin S,

Thank you so much for your well thought out review of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning the quietness of our hotel as during development we did take into account plane noise and guests continually compliment on how quiet their room was. Also, thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel and how "magnificent" our staff was. I will make sure to pass along your comments to the staff, they will be thrilled to hear. We are glad your stay was so comfortable and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
46
64
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was my first Candlewood experience and the brand is now my hotel of choice for work assignments. The kitchen area has full size appliances, dishwasher, garbage disposal, etc. All the dishware and cookware you could need are supplied. I was amazed to find the laundry facilities were free. That has to be one of the best, most beneficial perks I've found in a long term hotel. Shopping, dining, interstate, and airport are just minutes away. You would expect more noise that close to the airport, however, it was minimal and not bothersome at all. I almost couldn't wait to crawl into bed at night because it was so comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I'd be happy to stay there again. You made a loyal customer out of me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Debbie B,

As a team we are so excited to hear we have gained another loyal customer to the Candlewood Suites Brand and to IHG. We truly believe in family and enjoy creating an atmosphere unlike any other hotel brand in the world. Also, we appreciate you mentioning the complimentary guest laundry facilities and the kitchen amenities in each room. These amenities ease the burden of travel and temporary assignment while away from home. We are so happy to have you as a loyal customer and cannot wait to see you again soon. Thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
Level Contributor
246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have no complaints with this hotel. It was up to date, clean, well equiped wih a comfortable queen bed. We arrived late after a long flight from Philly. I knew beforehand that there was no free breakfast. However, now that I am here at this hotel and we will be checking out soon and will be going hiking, I can see that a real breakfast would be more convenient. Their little shop has complimentary coffee but only some packaged pastries and Jimmy Dean sandwiches for breakfast. But if you are staying here more than one night ( and this is an extended stay hotel) it is really excellent and low priced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear kod,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to candidly review our Candlewood Suites Portland Airport, Extended Stay Hotel. We especially want to thank you for commenting on the cleanliness and comfort you experienced during your stay with us. Our Candlewood Cupboard is our solution to continental breakfast as it is open 24 hours a day and allows each individual to live, work and play on their own schedule and not ours. All items are value priced at $6 or less with breakfast packages for $3.50-$4.00 per day. This allows you convenience to pick up your breakfast items the night before and eat in the morning as you relax before your day. We truly appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've visited Portland three times and am about to visit a fourth time. The past two times I've stayed at Candlewood Suites and will stay there again this next time. The place is clean, the staff more than friendly, the beds comfortable, the location is fantastic. My only complaint is on this last trip with my husband, there were only two of everything (dishes, utensils, cups/glasses) so that the dishwasher isn't necessary as it would never be full enough to wash. The first trip there were four. I'm guessing they were cutting back on everything. It's nice not to have to wash every time. Other than that, I love this place and will continue to stay there. The price is competitive and I don't have to eat out so I'm saving money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKathyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear MrsKathyJC,
Thank you for giving us an excellent review of your stay with us. Im happy to hear that our kitchen amenities helped you save some money during you time in Portland. We do have larger rooms that are designed to accomodate more guests so that would explain the difference in the number of silverware/dishes provided. A standard studio is designed for two guests and the double queens and our one bedroom units have ammenities for four.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us at Candlewood Suites Portland.
Best Regards,
Randy Baggett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arriving late into the Portland airport on a trip to the Oregon coast, we stayed the night at the Portland Airport Candlewood. The staff were friendly and helpful. The property is close to the airport, new and user friendly. Our room was clean and morning coffee was complementary, but no breakfast. We has a nice breakfast across the street at Shari's.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over65Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Over65Texas,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great 5star review. I'm glad that our friendly staff was able to get you into a nice room before you traveled to the coast. Im glad you were able to get a good breakfast at the local Sharis. Being that we are an extended stay hotel we do not offer a complimentary breakfast, however we do have a great selection of items available for purchase 24hours a day from our Candlewood Cupboard. Discounted breakfast packages are available.
We look forward to you staying with us next time you are traveling through the Portland area.
Best Regards,
Randy Baggett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved that customer service was attentive to our needs & provided excellent service! We were on a road trip & this provided us with quality sleep. Most of all I really enjoyed that the laundry facility was free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicVickSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear VicVickSA
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us an excellent review. I am glad you were able to get some "quality sleep" during your stay. I'm pleased that our complimentary guest laundry was a helpfull amenity. We look forward to you staying in the future.
Best Regards
Randy Baggett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, right by the Portland airport. Everything was so comfortable and the staff is great. The little food room is a great feature and offers a great variety of food items for breakfast, ect. Its VERY clean which is something I really look for in a Hotel. I will most Assuredly be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyBe425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JimmyBe425
Thank you for taking the time to give us a fantastic review of your stay with us. It is good to hear that our great staff and 24hour Candlewood Cupboard helped make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to seeing you next time you are traveling through Portland.
Best Regards
Randy Baggett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#48 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Address: 11250 NE Holman St, Portland, OR 97220-1097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing